Pam’s Pancakes

pancakes title

If you scroll back through the archives of this blog you’ll find a lot of pancake recipes.  Pancakes were my go-to post workout fuel a couple years ago when I was training like a mad woman for a triathlon and I think I found just about every way under the sun to put my own twist on them.  I made power pancakes, banana pancakes, pineapple upside down pancakes, s’mores pancakes, and birthday cake pancakes.  What I realized recently though is that I’ve never shared with you my very favorite classic pancake recipe!

My senior year of college I shared a house with a group of girls who, to this day, still remain some of my closest friends.  I wasn’t much of a cook back then and usually left that to Pam and Katie, both of whom had quite a bit more experience in the kitchen than Erin or myself.  Pam’s favorite thing to make (she still makes them when we get together) was her family’s pancake recipe.  I believe the recipe comes from a Mennonite cookbook that her aunt gave her, but I’m not even 100% sure about that.  I just know them as Pam’s pancakes.

love this recipe because it creates the most fluffy, cakey, perfectly sweet, but not too sweet pancakes that you’ve ever tried.  Its even better because usually pancakes this moist and fluffy require buttermilk (which half the time I don’t have on hand) but this recipe just calls for regular milk.  They are also totally customize-able.  Perfect plain.  Delicious with blueberries.  Or extra decadent with chocolate chips, which is how we always made them in college, and how I chose to make them today to share with you.

The truth is, I don’t eat pancakes that often anymore, but on our way home from Europe my Spatular and I were discussing the American foods we were craving most.  Anyone who knows him could guess his easily… a burger and a cheesesteak.  For me it was less obvious.  All I wanted was a big diner-style breakfast.  Eggs.  Sausage.  And pancakes.  Definitely pancakes.

pancakes 2

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 1/2 c flour
  • 1 Tbs baking powder
  • 2 Tbs sugar
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1/4 vegetable oil
  • 1/2 – 3/4 cup chocolate chips (optional)

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. In a medium sized bowl, whisk together the dry ingredients.
  2. In a separate small bowl, whisk together the eggs, milk, and oil.
  3. Pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients and fold together with a spatula.  Mix until the dry ingredients are absorbed, but be careful not to over mix.  The batter might be a little lumpy, but that’s OK.
  4. If you want a mix-in, fold it into the batter.  I used chocolate chips here, but blueberries work great!
  5. Heat a non-stick pan over medium heat on the stove top.  Give it a quick spritz with non-stick spray.
  6. Scoop 1/2 cup of batter into the pan and cook for two minutes or until the batter starts to bubble.  Flip the pancake and cook for another minute.
  7. Remove pancake from the heat and cover with foil on a plate to keep warm while cooking the other pancakes.  This recipe makes 6 large pancakes, or more small ones.

pancakes 3

Listen to your cravings.

One thought on “Pam’s Pancakes

Leave a Reply

