Pumpkin Spice Coffee Creamer

pumpkin spice title

There was a time in my life (shamefully, not that long ago) that I spent way WAY too much money at Starbucks. I was a total addict.  Then I started doing the math. $10-$15 per week at Starbs comes out to about $50 per month which ends up being $600 dollars per year. SIX. HUNDRED. DOLLARS. What the what?

Now don’t get me wrong, I still love stopping by for an iced coffee after a long run or a specialty drink when I need to get out of the house to knock out some work with no distractions, but I just try not to make it a habit these days. And for the most part, the temptation has pretty much faded for me.

Enter Pumpkin Spice Latte season.

I love all things pumpkin and as sad as I am to bid farewell to summer every September, the one silver lining is that it is pumpkin season once again. Although this year due to the end of summer heat wave we’ve been having in Philadelphia, I was able to fight the temptation to B-line directly into Starbucks when I saw that PSL sign out front on the first day of September.

I also made a decision that before I fell down the overpriced coffee rabbit hole again, I should probably just figure out how to make my own pumpkin spice creamer at home. As much as I love the pumpkin coffee from Starbucks and Dunkin, the older I get the more I have started to find it to be almost a little too sweet, which is the other benefit of making it at home: I get to control the ingredients!

My creamer is a little more spice and a little less sweetness, which suits my taste buds perfectly. If you want to try this at home, I recommend starting with the base recipe and tweaking it to your preferences. You can always add more sweetener directly to your coffee if you think it needs it. The other thing to take note of is that I provide quantities for sugar or Sweet n Low. I haven’t tried it with any other artificial sweeteners, but I usually use Sweet n Low in my coffee (I know it’s bad for me, but we all have our vices) so that’s how I first developed the recipe.   I did a couple of test runs with regular sugar though since I know that is most people’s preference. Homemade coffee creamer is so easy to make and customize; give it a try and I’m sure you’ll be hooked!

pumpkin spice creamer 2

INGREDIENTS:

  • 2 cups whole milk
  • 1 cup pumpkin puree
  • 1/3 cup sugar (or 8 packets of Sweet n Low)
  • 3/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/4 ground ginger
  • 1/8 tsp allspice

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Combine all of the ingredients in a sauce pan and whisk over low heat until the sugar has dissolved and the pumpkin is well incorporated.
  2. Continue to simmer on low heat for 10-15 minutes, giving it a quick whisk every few minutes.  Remove from heat when the milk is steaming, but before any bubbles have formed.  Allow the creamer to cool for a few minutes.
  3. While the creamer is cooling, place a sieve over a medium sized bowl, and line the inside of the sieve with cheese cloth.  Pour the creamer over the cheese cloth and let it strain for about an hour.  You can use a small spatula as needed to stir the pumpkin so the liquid will continue to strain.
  4. Discard the pumpkin remaining in the cheese cloth, and pour the strained creamer into an airtight container.  Store the creamer in your refrigerator for up to a week.

pumpkin spice creamer 1Skip the Starbs this year and go for the good stuff!

Leave a Reply

