Blueberry Bundt Cake with Sweet Lemon Glaze

blueberry bundt cake title

There’s nothing quite like getting away from the city for a short while to remind me of the importance of slowing down. I’m a go-go-go kind of girl by nature, so I have to physically remove myself from the madness before I can really give myself a break. I spent three insanely relaxing days at a cottage on Lake Ontario in upstate New York with some friends a couple weeks back, and it was just the reprieve I needed. After a very busy summer, it was absolute heaven to kick back and relax with three of my closest friends from college, my favorite dog in the world, and the cutest little 2 year old girl you’ve ever seen.

The weekend was filled with a whole lot of nothing (in the BEST way possible). We grilled out in the evening, drove into town for breakfast in the morning, sipped beers overlooking the lake while Gracie napped in the afternoon, and polished off a couple bottles of wine watching the sun set after she went to bed at night.

As I always do before a weekend away, I baked a couple things to bring a long for snacking between meals. This blueberry bundt cake was such a hit that I knew I had to share the recipe. It’s actually a riff on a lavender bundt cake that I posted on here ages ago. I’ve loved this lavender cake ever since my now sister-in-law sent me the recipe 2+ years ago. It’s just so simple and with the substitution of Greek yogurt for some of the fat, I don’t feel too terrible about slicing off another piece. In this version of the recipe I opted to substitute sweet, juicy blueberries for the florally dried lavender in the original cake. I also gave the glaze a lemony twist because citrus + berries is one of my all-time favorite flavor combos.

This simple cake was a big hit with everyone. It has the perfect spongy texture, more dense than a traditional cake, but not as heavy as a pound cake. The simple vanilla batter hugs the juicy blueberries allowing their perfectly seasonal flavor to shine through. I love the combo of lemon and blueberry, so I drizzled my cake with lemon glaze, but if you’re not into citrus, a plain vanilla glaze would work well.

Everyone was in agreement that this recipe was a winner. Especially little Grace who repeatedly kept requesting more “reats” (toddler talk for treats) and asking “Mommy, bite? Mommy, bite?” Eventually we had to hide the “reats” from Gracie, but you better believe the grown-ups went in for another slice alongside our wine after she went to bed.

collage blueberry bundt cake

INGREDIENTS:

CAKE:

  • 2 cups sugar
  • 10 Tbs butter, at room temperature
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 3 eggs
  • 3 1/2 cup flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 1/2 cups vanilla Greek yogurt (I used 2 single serving chobani)
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1 pint container of blueberries

GLAZE:

  • 1 cup powdered sugar
  • 1/4 tsp lemon extract
  • 2 Tbs half and half (more if needed)

 

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Grease and flour a bundt pan and set aside.
  2. In the bowl of a stand mixer, cream the butter and sugar on medium-high speed for about 2 minutes, or until light and fluffy.  Mix in the vanilla, then beat in each egg, one at a time.
  3. In a separate bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.  In another bowl, whisk together the yogurt and milk.
  4. Add the dry ingredients to the stand mixer in 3 batches, alternating with the addition of the Greek yogurt.  Beat well to make sure ingredients are fully incorporated after each addition.  Finally mix in the blueberries on low speed and pour the batter into the prepared baking pan.
  5. Bake the cake for  1 hour or until a toothpick tester comes out clean.
  6. Let the cake cool for an hour in the pan before flipping it onto a wire rack to finish cooling.  I recommend gently running a knife between the edges of the cake and the sides of the pan to ensure that is slides out easily.
  7. Once the cake has cooled, whisk together the glaze ingredients in a medium sized bowl until very smooth.  Adjust the amount of milk as needed to reach the desired consistency.  The glaze should be thin enough to drizzle over the cake, but not so liquid that it doesn’t stick.  When the glaze is ready gently spoon or pour it over the entire cake.

blueberry bundt cake 5

I’ve made it twice this summer already, but should I go for three times?

One thought on “Blueberry Bundt Cake with Sweet Lemon Glaze

Leave a Reply

