Single Serving Peach Bourbon Crisp

Hi. Remember me? The Spatularette?

peach crisp 3

I used to post about food and bad dates and my travels and all my 20-something drama here. Then life just started happening. I mean it was always happening, but at a faster pace than before. I moved to a new apartment; my brother got married; I was promoted at work, which meant learning a new and more demanding role; I did one of those crazy debt paydown plans and kicked my student loans to the curb. It was just one of those years that I needed a break from the crazy internets so I could be more present in my “real” life. But after months of gentle prodding from friends and co-workers, I decided to get back on the blogging horse. I never stopped cooking (actually, I think I’ve been doing some of the best cooking of my life recently!) I just wasn’t writing about it. But I do miss this space. I miss sharing my kitchen (and life) and reading what you have to say. I miss the challenge of developing my own recipes and learning new techniques to tell you about. I miss scaling recipes down to serve two people. I just miss my little blog. I don’t think I’ll get back to posting at the same rate I was before, but I do want to get back to posting. So… welcome back (or welcome for the first time if you’re new here!) and please just bear with me as I get the hang of this thing again.

So where should we begin? How about with a single serving dessert, which is the thing this site was becoming known for before I took my long hiatus. I live alone, so big-batch desserts are often times totally unreasonable for me.  You do not even want to know the  kind  of damage I would do if I had a whole pan of this sitting around.   How can a woman with a sweet tooth like mine stop herself from digging her spoon through a layer of crispy, sweet oatmeal topping down into a hot, gooey dish of peaches buzzing ever so slightly with the flavor of bourbon and find a way to stop herself from doing it over and over again?

The answer is, the only way to stop is to make yourself a single serving.  That’s it.  The only way.

If I haven’t sold you yet, maybe the recipe below will!  Give it a try and let me know what you think!

peach crisp 2

 

INGREDIENTS:

FILLING:

  • 1 peach
  • 4 tsp sugar
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 tsp bourbon
  • 2 tsp flour

TOPPING:

  • 1 1/2 Tbs flour
  • 1 1/2 Tbs brown sugar
  • 1 1/2 Tbs old fashioned oats
  • 1/8 tsp cinnamon
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 Tbs butter

INSTRUCTIONS:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Peel and  slice the peach.  Cut the slices into half inch chunks.
  3. In a small bowl, mix the peaches, 4 tsp sugar, 1/2 tsp vanilla, 1 1/2 tsp bourbon, and 2 tsp of flour.  Transfer the mixture to a 6 inch ramekin.
  4. In a separate bowl, use a spoon to mix together 1 1/2 Tbs flour, 1 1/2 Tbs brown sugar, 1 1/2 Tbs oats, 1/8 tsp cinnamon, and a pinch of salt.  Use a pastry cutter or your fingers to cut the 1 Tbs of butter into the dry ingredients until the biggest pieces of butter are the size of peas.
  5. Dump the crumble on top of the peaches and bake for 25-30 minutes.  The top will be crispy and the filling will be bubbly when done.

Peach Crisp 1

 

Just hurry up and do it before peaches go out of season!

Leave a Reply

