Cherry Pie For 2

cherry pie 1

The Scoop:

I’ve been eating a lot of cherries lately.  So. Many. Cherries.  Just buying them by the pound [only when they’re on sale because I can’t afford to spend $13 on a bag of fruit], and eating them for breakfast, lunch, dinner, snack, you name it.  I sit there watching reruns of The Office [any number of things really], methodically popping those sweet little treats into my mouth, one at a time, and spitting their pit back into my bowl.  Pop. Suck. Spit. Plink. Repeat.  I did this for the first time in front of my spatular last Sunday while we were eating lunch after church and he nearly puked.  Apparently spitting cherry pits into a bowl while another person is trying to enjoy their grilled cheese sandwich isn’t very lady like…  I guess that means I should stop eating cherries at my desk at work as well.  Pop. Suck.  Spit.  Plink. Repeat.  Oh, sorry co-workers.  Am I grossing you out?  Is it completely unprofessional to eat cherries as a mid-day snack while responding to backed up emails?  My bad.

So now that I’m super self-conscious about eating cherries, what the heck should I do with them all?  Ummmm, easy decision.  Make a pie.  Sweet cherries aren’t even the kind of cherry you’re technically supposed to make a pie with, but I decided to give it a try and I’m officially obsessed.  Oh, and since I’m only one person and I live alone and I am trying to show some level of restraint with my dessert consumption this summer, I made a Cherry Pie For 2.  The other reason I made the mini pie is because I do not in any way have the patience to pit the number of cherries required to make a full size pie.  No. Thank.  You.  So Cherry Pie For 2 it is!

Since this is a dessert for two recipe, I decided to keep the ingredient list short and the steps as basic as possible.  Fruit pie is typically not a weeknight baking project, but this recipe is totally doable.  The crust only takes minutes to make, in fact, the most time consuming part is pitting the cherries.  The only additions to the cherries is some sugar for sweetening, corn starch for thickening, and a little lemon zest for an unexpected zip.  It only takes 45 minutes in the oven [just enough time to eat dinner and clean up] and the pie comes out oozing with sweet syrupy cherries.  I made this apple pie for two last fall and this is its summer counterpart.  Total perfection if you ask me!

4th
PS: Did everyone have a good Fourth of July?  Mine was incredible which made going back to work and school this week seem like a cruel form of torture.  #firstworldproblems
PPS: Speaking of hashtags, I hashtagged the picture above: #philly #friends #forthofjuly after a couple drinks and, well, apparently Bud Light Lime makes me forget how to spell first grade words and instragram doesn’t let you fix your hashtags and facebook doesn’t let you edit your instragrams so basically everyone in my social media world thinks I don’t know how to spell FOURTH.  #great

cherry pie 2The Goods:

INGREDIENTS:

Crust:

  • 6 Tbs flour
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • 3 Tbs butter
  • pinch of salt 2
  • tsp ice water
  • 1 egg white

Filling:

  • heaping cup of cherries, pitted and halved
  • 3 Tbs sugar
  • 1  Tbs corn startch
  • 1/4 tsp lemon zest

SPECIAL EQUIPMENT:

cherry pie collage

The Deets:

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

For the curst, combine the flour, sugar and salt in a small bowl and whisk together with a fork.  Add the cold butter in small cubes, and use your fingers to work it into the flour until the largest pieces are the size of small peas.  Add the cold water and stir with a spatula until a loose ball forms.  Gently use your hands to kneed the dough a couple of times until a smooth ball forms.  Pull off 1/3 of the dough and wrap it in plastic wrap, then wrap the remaining dough in a second sheet of plastic wrap.  Refrigerate the dough for at least 1 hour.

While the dough is chilling, pit the cherries and slice them in half.  You’ll need a heaping cup full of pitted, sliced cherries.  Srinkle the cherries with the sugar, corn starch, and lemon zest, and use a spoon to gently mix them until they are evenly coated.  Some of the dry ingredients will sink to the bottom of the bowl, which is totally fine.

After an hour, remove the dough from the plastic wrap and lay the larger ball on a lightly floured surface.  Roll it until  thin, lifting the dough and turning it or flipping it every few rolls to keep  it from sticking.  Add more  flour  as needed.  Gently place the dough round into the springfrom pan, and press  it down into  the bottoms and edges.  Scoop the cherry filling into the pie crust, leaving the remaining sugar and corn starch in the bottom of the bowl [not in the pie].

Lay the smaller ball of dough on a lightly floured  surface and roll it  into a thin round, following the same technique described above.  Place the dough on top of the pie, and use your fingers to gently tuck the edges down into the springform pan.  Use a knife to cut a small ‘x’ in the top of the pie.  If you are feeling ambitious like me, use a knife to cut  the dough into 8 small strips, and weave them together  into a lattice pattern [I explain how to do that here].  Use a spatuala to lift the lattice off the counter and place it on top of the pie, using your fingers to gently tuck the edges into the springform pan.  Lightly brush the top of the pie with egg white.

Set the springform pan on a baking sheet and bake at 350 degrees for 45 minutes, or until the crust is golden and the filling is bubbly.  Allow the pie to cool  for five minutes before gently releasing it from the springform pan.  Serve with ice cream and share with a friend!

cherry pie 3

The Inspiration:

Original Recipe

cherry pie 5

drooling on my keyboard…

XOXO,

MJ

Leave a Reply

