Creamy Fruit Salad

creamy fruit salad 2

The Scoop:

Can you answer me one question?  How the heck has another memorial day weekend come  and gone?  What the what?  Talk about a holy time warp, I feel like I was just locked inside dreading yet another snow day and now it’s the unofficial start of summer.  What the what?

Don’t get me wrong, I ain’t complaining.  I li-i-i-ive for summatime.  Long days.  Warm weather.  Camp fires.  Short shorts.  BBQ’s, picnics, and days at the shore.  In my best ever MDW, I managed to do all of the above.  In typical Meg Jones fashion, I jam packed the weekend, trying to suck every last bit of enjoyment out of it.  To maximize the fun, I also decided to minimize the work.  Instead of volunteering to bake or cook for any of the festivities I decided to keep it simple and just bring fruit salad.  I mean, everyone loves fruit salad, right?  Summertime in a bowl.

This is my new favorite fruit salad though, lightly dressed with a sweet and tangy sauce.  The sour cream/brown sugar combo might sound a little strange, but trust me when I say it is addicting!  The dressing perfectly complements the fruit, adding a creamy element to the salad, while still letting the flavors of those summertime fruits shine.  So if you are looking for a quick and easy dish to tote around with you all weekend [or all summer] I think I’ve got you covered!

creamy fruit salad 1

The Goods:

  • 10 cups assorted fruit, cut into bit sized pieces
  • 8 oz light sour cream
  • 3 Tbs brown sugar

The Deets:

Cut fruit into bit sized pieces and combine in a large bowl.  In a medium sized bowl, whisk together sour cream and brown sugar.  Pour the sauce over the fruit and gently toss with a spatula until evenly coated.  Refrigerate until ready to serve.  I haven’t tried it yet, but I imagine greek yogurt would work just as well as the sour cream.

creamy fruit salad 3

The Inspiration:

Original Recipe

creamy fruit salad 4

I know I say this every year but… let’s make this the best summer ever!

XOXO,

MJ

Leave a Reply

