Roasted Beet Salad with Honey Shallot Vinaigrette

Roasted Beet Salad 1

The Scoop:

Hi hi!  I’m backkkkkk!  Things have been a little cray around here lately, and although I have a whole arsenal of recipes photographed and ready to go, I just haven’t gotten around to posting them.  And if I’m being totally honest, it feels pretty dang good to just… disconnect… for  a few days [said the girl who checked her instagram feed 50 times today], but it also feels really nice to be back to posting.

My friend Kate and I split a farm share and just received the last of our winter boxes.  This is the first time I participated in a farm share, but we loved it so much that we’ve already signed up for the spring/summer lot!  In my final box, I received a bunch of large beets.  You see, beets are something I’ve never been particularly fond of, and certainly not something I go out to the market and purchase on my own.  One of my favorite parts of the farm share is that it challenges me to use ingredients that I may not try otherwise.  Enter beets.

Beets are known first and foremost for their shocking red color, but after that, they mostly get a bad rap for their extremely earthy flavor.  Enter roasting.  Roasting vegetables is the best way to transform their flavor into something sweet and warm that even veggie haters can get behind.  I decided to give it a whirl with the beets, and guess what?  It worked!  The earthy flavor was softened by the roasting and I was left perfect little red jewels to top my salad.  While the beets were roasting, I slowly carmelized some mushrooms and onions and mixed up a quick vinaigrette in a jar.  I layered everything over a bed of arugula and topped it with a sprinkle of goat cheese.  The flavor combination was out of this world: a little bit peppery, a little bit tangy, a little bit sweet, and a lot a bit healthy.

Roasted Beet Salad 6

The Goods:

INGREDIENTS:

Salad:

  • 6 cups arugula
  • 2 1/2 Tbs olive oil, divided
  • 3 beets, washed and peeled
  • 8 oz baby portobella mushrooms. sliced in half
  • 1/2 sweet onion, thinly sliced
  • 1 tsp kosher salt, divided
  • 1/2 tsp herbs de provence
  • 4 Tbs goat cheese crumbles

Dressing:

  • 3 Tbs finely minced shallot
  • 2 cloves garlic, pressed or finely minced
  • 2 tsp honey
  • 2 Tbs red wine vinegar
  • 1/4 cup olive oil

Roasted Beet Salad 2

The Deets:

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.  Dice the cleaned and peeled beets into 1/2 inch cubes.  Lay them in a single layer on a baking sheet, and drizzle them with 1 Tbs of olive oil and sprinkle them with a 1/2 tsp of kosher salt.  Place the beets in the oven and roast for 35 minutes, stirring and turning them every 10 minutes.  They should be fork tender when you remove them from the oven.

While the beets are roasting, heat 1 1/2 Tbs of olive oil in a nonstick pan over medium heat on the stove top.  Add the sliced onions and mushrooms, along with 1/2 tsp kosher salt and 1/2 tsp herbs de provence.  Stir well to coat, then slowly carmelize the vegetables, stirring occasionally to keep them from burning or sticking.  The caramelizing process should take about a half an hour.

While the veggies are cooking, combine all of the vinaigrette ingredients in a jar or other tightly sealed container.  Shake vigorously for 30 seconds.  Give it another quick shake right before serving the salad.

To assemble the salads, toss the dressing with 6 cups of arugula.  Divide the greens between 4 plates for small salads or 2 plates for large salads.  Top the arugula with the warm beets, mushrooms, and onions.  Sprinkle with goat cheese and serve immediately.

The Inspiration:

My Farm Share Box!

Roasted Beet Salad 3

You can’t beet it.  [sorry.  bad joke.]

XOXO,

MJ

Leave a Reply

