Grapefruit Ginger Cocktail

Ginger Grapefruit Cocktail 1

The Scoop:

Today we’re talking about bourbon.  I guess that makes sense since yesterday I told you about Nashville, a place where I definitely drank my fair share of bourbon.  I actually made this cocktail for a ladies night about a month ago, but never got around to sharing it.  I almost didn’t even photograph it, but sure was glad I did, because my girlfriends loved it and immediately asked if I would be posting it.

The flavor combo is a little out there, but is the perfect blend of 3 of my favorite ingredients: grapefruit, ginger, and bourbon.  Remember when we made that ginger syrup last month?  We’re going  to mix a whole batch of that with some freshly squeezed  grapefruit, a generous pour of your favorite bourbon [Knob Creek all the way!], and some tonic water  to round  things out.  It’s bitter, it’s spicy, it’s a little bit sweet, and of course its bourbon-y.  Bascially, its the perfect drink to transition us from winter comfort to springtime freshness.  I recommend mixing up a batch ASAP.  It’s Friday.  Happy hour, anyone?

Ginger Grapefruit Cocktail 3

The Goods:

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 cup ginger syrup
  • 3/4 cup freshly squeezed grapefruit  juice
  • 1 cup bourbon
  • 3 cups tonic water.

The Deets:

Combine the ingredients in a large pitcher.  Stir well and serve over ice.

The Inspiration:

Original Recipe.

Ginger Grapefruit Cocktail 2

I’ll drink to that.

XOXO,

MJ

 

Leave a Reply

