Irish Potatoes

Irish Potatoes 3

The Scoop:

Happy Saint Patrick’s Day, my friends!  Erin Go Braugh and all that fun stuff!  I know I told you about this last year around this time, but six years ago I spent St. Patty’s in Dublin, so I don’t know why I ever even think about trying to recreate that.  Even though I know I’ll never top that day, it doesn’t stop me from making some treats to celebrate a little bit!

On my first Saint Patrick’s Day in Philly [four years ago!], one of my co-workers told me she was planning to bring Irish Potatoes into the office, so naturally my head went straight to savory spuds.  Kind of a strange office treat, don’t ya think?

It turns out that Irish Potatoes are anything but savory, and are a total Philly thing [see, we do way more than cheesesteaks around here!].  While these are not an original recipe, I thought they’d be fun to share as they are probably new to all the readers who are not from Eastern PA.  Irish Potatoes are suuuuuuuuuper rich, so one or two are usually enough for me, but that sweet cinnamony coconut flavor is pretty dang irresistible.  Think of these as a big ball of coconut frosting coated in a light layer of cinnamon.  And did I mention they’re no-bake?

Irish Potatoes 2

The Goods:

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1/4 cup butter, softened
  • 4 oz cream cheese
  • 4 cups powdered sugar
  • 1 Tbs heavy cream
  • 2 cups dried shredded coconut
  • 1-2 Tbs cinnamon

Irish Potatoes 5

The Deets:

In the bowl of a stand mixer, beat the butter and cream cheese on medium speed until smooth and combined.  Add the powdered sugar, 1 cup at a time, mixing on low until incorporated each time.  Add the cream and beat on high speed for 1 minute.  Add the coconut and mix on medium speed until it is evenly distributed.

Spread the cinnamon in a large shallow bowl.  Scoop 1 Tbs of the coconut mixture and roll into a ball shape with your hands, then roll it in the cinnamon until evenly coated.  Repeat with the remaining coconut cream.  Store in a cool area until ready to serve.

The Inspiration:

Here is a pretty standard Irish Potato recipe and here is the history of the candy.

Irish Potatoes 7

Luck o’ the Irish to ya!

XOXO,

MJ

Leave a Reply

