Ginger Hot Toddy

Ginger Hot Toddy 2

The Scoop:

Signs I might be getting old.  Part 2.  [Read part 1 here].

As you know I’ve been non stop blah blah blahing about how frickin’ cold its been this winter so let me set the stage of our next story for you.  We’re in the middle of one of the polar vortexes and its a Thursday night.  I met my friends at a local bar for our weekly game of pub quiz.  We’re as bundled up as you can get.  Hoodies, scarves, boots, hats, gloves, coats, layers upon layers.  Pub quiz typically wraps up a little after 10:00 and I immediately head home to go to bed since I have work the next day.  Its standard practice.

At 10:00 on the dot, as I was pulling on my coat for the frigid walk home, I felt the door open with a gust of wind.  In walked a group of girls, presumably seniors at nearby St Joe’s University.  And do you know what they were wearing?  Tank tops.  No coats.  Just tank tops.  It was 7 degrees outside.  I started laughing.  But then I remembered.  5 short years ago I was wearing my tank tops the bar in the middle of winter.

Is it just me, or does body temperature plummet the day you graduate college?

Ginger Hot Toddy 5

Moving on…  I remember being 14 years old and baby sitting for my pastor’s kids.  As he drove me home [because I didn’t have my license yet], he played talk radio in the car.  “I remember that my dad used to listen to talk radio,” he said.  “I could never understand why he liked it, but now its all I listen to.  I guess that makes me old,” he laughed.

Guess who listens to talk radio now?

Guilty as charged.

Not so much talk radio, but I’ve taken to listening to podcast, Ted Talks, and NPR at my desk at work.  Who knew there were so many fascinating topics to be discovered in the world!

[By the way, if you know a podcast I should be listening to, leave it in the comments below!]

Ginger Hot Toddy 1

Now let’s talk about I’m-getting-old-cocktails.  Made with a spirit that doesn’t come in a plastic bottle and definitely has more than two ingredients.  They pack a punch, are meant  for sipping, and are sometimes even served hot instead of cold.

This ginger hot toddy is all of the above and then some.  The spiciness of the ginger, the tartness of the lemon, the gentle burn of the bourbon, I feel little bit more grown up just thinking about it.  The Ginger Hot Toddy has gotten me through more than my fair share of snow days this winter and will definitely be a staple in my house for years to come.

Ginger Hot Toddy 6

The Goods:

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 1/2 oz bourbon
  • 1 1/2 oz ginger syrup <link>
  • 1 tsp fresh lemon juice
  • 6 oz hot water

The Deets:

Combine the bourbon, ginger, and fresh lemon juice in a mug.  Stir the ingredients to combine and top with hot water.  Garnish with a lemon slice and enjoy!

The Inspiration:

My spin on a traditional hot toddy.

Ginger Hot Toddy 3

Cheers to drinking like a grown up!

XOXO,

MJ

Leave a Reply

