Ginger Syrup [for cocktails and such]

Ginger Syrup 4

The Scoop:

I have a massive case of the Monday Blues.  Monday Blues that were only trumped by the gut wrenching Sunday Blues I was experiencing last night.

I’m pretty sure it was the sunshine that triggered it all.  Sunshine is something we haven’t seen a whole lot of over the last few months, so once I got my first taste, I wasn’t ready to let it go.

Or maybe it was triggered by the lacrosse game, or the hub cap margarita, or the sunset on the roof deck, or the breeze from the harbor, or the crab on my eggs benedict in the morning.

Maybe it was just a combination of all of the above.  But the moral of the story is I’m Monday Bluesin’ in a bad way.

Monday blues so bad I’m not even sure that Juan Pablo can cure them.

Ginger Syrup 1

Did you have a good weekend?  The kind of weekend that leaves you Monday Bluesin’ like me?  If so, I do have one maybe cure for you.  This homemade ginger syrup.  Not syrup like you dump on your pancakes, syrup that’s used as the base for cocktails, pops [I say pop, not soda], and other home remedies.  It’s extra spicy, and not too sweet, which is just how I like it.  You may want to play around with the ginger-to-sugar ratios to find what tickles your taste buds, but this is an excellent place to start.

You may find yourself asking, what exactly does one do with ginger syrup?  Good question!  Top with with some club soda for instant ginger ale.  Mix it with some vodka, lime juice, and tonic water for a moscow mule.  Take a shot of it to cure a hangover [haven’t tried this one personally, but I hear it works].  Or check back later this week for the recipe for my very favorite winter cocktail.  Whatever you do, just make a batch of ginger syrup ASAP.

Ginger Syrup 3

The Goods:

INGREDIENTS:

  • 8 oz fresh ginger root, washed but not peeled
  • 2 cups water
  • 1/2 cup sugar

The Deets:

Slice the fresh ginger with a sharp knife, then give it a rough chop.  I leave the skin on for some extra color [and less work], but if that bothers you, feel free to remove it.  Combine the water, sugar, and ginger in a saucepan.  Heat it over medium heat on the stove top and stir until the sugar has been dissolved.  Bring the mixture to a boil, then turn the heat to low, and simmer it, uncovered, for 1 hour.  Using a mesh strainer, strain the syrup into a bowl, leaving the ginger bits behind.  Let the syrup cool to room temp, then store in an airtight container in the refrigerator.

The Inspiration:

A slight adaptation of David Lebovitz Fresh Ginger Syrup.

Ginger Syrup 5

Is it just me, or is Monday starting to look a whole lot better?

XOXO,

MJ

Leave a Reply

