The Perfect Breakfast Sandwich

Country Ham Egg And Biscuit 4

The Scoop:

In case you haven’t figured this out yet, despite the heavy man-friend references I’ve been dropping, I’ve found myself a Spatular.  I met him 9 months ago [in one of those annoyingly cute story kind of ways] and have been cooking for him since about the middle of summer.  I put figs on his pizza, which is a rather bold move the first time you feed a man, but he loved it and has been coming over to my house for dinner ever since.

Despite the fact that I was [and still am] very happy, the news of my no-longer-single-status initially came as a bit of a disappointment to those around me.  You see, the one thing I could always be counted on for [hopefully more than just this] was a good bad date story.  Let’s face it, we all love a good bad date story [he did what?].  I’ve shared a few of them on here, but that’s just a taste of the insanity.  It really is.  My girlfriends at work used to anxiously await our Monday lunchtime walks, knowing that I’d have some new single-lady tale with which to regale them.  But now, as gag-worthy as this sounds, I’m just going on good dates, all with the same person, and it has been pretty darn great.

Country Ham Egg And Biscuit 1

Now that all that is out in the open, I can make the following confession:

I actually googled “what should I buy my boyfriend for Valentine’s Day?”

Do you know who else googles that?
Highschool girls.
And Middleschoolers.
Google actually recommended the search: “what should I buy my highschool boyfriend for valentine’s day?”

All the search results were for things like seventeen magazine and a website called gurl.com

Ugh, major fail.

I did finally settle on a gift, but since it was tickets for something that’s still a few months away, I decided to round it out with some food.  Of course I did.

You see, the spatular in question was born in the south and has been telling me about this mysterious country ham since we first met.  He swore it made the perfect breakfast sandwich [like last meal on Earth good], so I decided to give it a try for myself, and I have to agree.  It is a super salty cured meat that totally becomes the star of the sandwich.  I like to top mine with a lightly scrambled egg and a piece of melty american cheese, and shove it all into the flaky buttery layers of a homemade biscuit.    Country ham is pretty hard to come by in Pennsylvania so, depending where you live, you may need to check online or a a specialty market.  If you can’t get your hands on any, substitute your favorite breakfast meat.

Country Ham Egg And Biscuit 2

The Goods:

**makes 2 sandwiches

INGREDIENTS:

Biscuits:

  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 3/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 4 Tbs cold butter
  • 6 Tbs buttermilk

Sandwich:

  • 3 eggs
  • 2 slices [about 2 oz each] of country ham
  • 2 slices American cheese

Country Ham Egg And Biscuit 3

The Deets:

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.

For two breakfast sandwiches, start by making a double batch of my favorite Buttermilk Biscuits For Two.  After you’ve kneaded the dough, split it into two balls, pat each one into a 1/2 inch thick round and cut them out with a large cookie cutter.  Bake the biscuits for 10 minutes, or until puffy and golden brown.  Remove from the oven and allow to cool for a few minutes on the baking pan before slicing it in half and assembling the sandwich.

While the biscuits are baking, heat a nonstick pan over medium heat on the stove top.  When hot, add the country ham and cook for two minutes per side.  Remove the ham and set aside.

Crack the eggs into a bowl and whisk vigorously with a fork.  Put a small pat of butter into the hot skillet.  Pour half of the egg mixture in and give the pan a swirl to spread the eggs evenly.  Cook for about two minutes, gently flipping and folding them a couple of times to cook them evenly without  totally scrambling them.  Top the eggs with 1 slice of American cheese and allow them to cook in the pan for one more minute to melt the cheese a bit.  Remove the eggs and repeat with the other half  of the egg mixture and final slice of cheese.

To  assemble the sandwich, slice the biscuit in half with a serrated knife.  This recipe make very flaky biscuits so they should  pull apart easily.  Top the bottom half of the biscuit with the eggs, cheese, and country ham and sandwich it with the top half of the biscuit.

Serve immediately with a side of grits for a true southern-style breakfast.

The Inspiration:

Spatular Food

Country Ham Egg And Biscuit 5

Happy Valentine’s Day!!!!!!

XOXO,

MJ

Leave a Reply

