Buttermilk Biscuits For 2

Buttermilk Biscuits For 2 1

The Scoop:

The Olympics have started!!  Is everyone as psyched about this as I am?  I was watching the first few rounds of figure skating last night and have already certified myself an expert in all things winter sports related, talking about leg extensions, tenths of points, and soft landings, as if I actually know.  [I don’t]

What about Bob Costas?  Does everyone  love him as much as I do?  I seriously wish that he could narrate my life.  And I don’t mean that someday I hope to be famous enough to have Bob Costas narrate my biography, I mean that I wish he could narrate my actual  life.  Like that when I wake up in the morning, Bob’s voice will be there:

It’s 5:30 AM and Meghan is ready to start her day.  Actually, it looks like she is going to hit her snooze button a few more times.  But this, this my friends, is  what champions are made of.

Seriously.  Bob Costas.  Come be my life narrator.

Also, did everyone notice that there is something going on with Bob’s left eye?  Do we think it’s pink eye?  Do we think its from the sub-par sleeping conditions in Sochi that the athletes and journalists have been tweeting about?

These are the things I think about.

Also, I’m not sure how it happened, but this post about biscuits just turned into a post about Bob Costas.  Weird.

That being said, there really isn’t  a whole lot for me to tell you about biscuits.  I made a Biscuits For 2 recipe a couple weeks ago and these are their buttermilk counterpart.  Buttermilk biscuits are my absolute favorite.  So fluffy and flaky and buttery!

This is the recipe where we make exactly two of them, because like I mentioned here, sometimes single folk just don’t need an entire batch of biscuits sitting around there house.

Buttermilk biscuits are the ideal vehicle for the perfect breakfast sandwich that I will be bringing to you next week, but for today we’re just serving them with honey and jam.  All you need is twenty minutes and this breakfast is yours!

Buttermilk Biscuits For 2 4

The Goods:

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 3/8 tsp baking soda
  • 3/4 tsp baking powder
  • 2 Tbs cold butter
  • 3 Tbs buttermilk

The Deets:

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.

In a bowl whisk together the flour, salt, baking soda, and baking powder.  Cut the butter into small cubes, then work it into the flour mixture with your hands until the smallest bits of butter are the size of peas.  Add the buttermilk and stir with a rubber spatula until incorporated and a loose dough has formed.  Dump the dough and any floury bits onto a clean counter.  Knead with your hands about 10 times until the dough is smooth.  Pat it into a 1/2 inch thick round, and use a cookie cutter or small drinking glass to cut two biscuits.

Transfer the dough to an ungreased cookie sheet, and bake for 12 minutes, or until golden brown.  Serve hot with butter, jam, honey, or your favorite breakfast condiments.

The Inspiration:

These are a spin on my Biscuits For 2 recipe, which is the perfect alternative if you don’t have any buttermilk on hand.

Buttermilk Biscuits For 2  5

Do you think buttermilk biscuits will heal Bob’s pink eye?

XOXO,

MJ

2 thoughts on “Buttermilk Biscuits For 2

Leave a Reply

