Turntup Hot Chocolate

Turntup Hot Chocolate 5

The Scoop:

I’m really grateful to have younger cousins.

They help keep me young.  Not only do they share my passion for One Direction [they’re team Harry, I’m team Liam], but they also keep me up to date on all the pop culture lingo I’ve been missing out on.

Most recently over the Christmas holiday, they helped correct my hashtags.  I posted a photo on instagram and captioned it: Family Christmas #turnitup.  Apparently the appropriate hashtag is #turnup, or if we’re going past tense its #turntup.

They also taught me about #ratchet [something that a girl definitely does not want to be called], but I just kept screwing it up and saying #racket.

#majorfail

More like #toooldforthis.

Turntup Hot Chocolate 3

Not to dive too deeply into the pool of incorrectly used lingo, but its been hella cold here in Philadelphia.  Like cold cold.  #arcticblast?  #polarvortex?  Try #freezingmyassoff.

Don’t get me wrong, I grew up with some pretty harsh winters, but this one is really driving me over the edge.  And by driving me over the edge, I actually mean driving me directly to the liquor store to restock my stash which has seriously dwindled since the holidays ended.

Now that I’m all re-boozed and cooped up back inside watching the snow swirl and the wind whip, I think its time to make some hot chocolate… turntup style.

This is a super simple riff on my mom’s homemade hot chocolate.  She uses half milk and half cream in hers, but I decided to lighten this one up just a pinch by using all milk [whole milk, but still milk].  Whisk in some rich cocoa, a little bit of sugar for sweetening, a generous pour of marshmallow vodka, and we’ve got ourselves a serious snow day treat.

[If for some reason you want your hot chocolate turntdown, then just leave out the vodka and add an extra half cup of milk.]

Turntup Hot Chocolate 2

The Goods:

INGREDIENTS:

  • 2 cups whole milk
  • 4 Tbs unsweetened cocoa powder [I used a dark one]
  • 3 Tbs sugar
  • pinch of salt
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 cup marshmallow vodka
  • mini marshmallows for topping

Turntup Hot Chocolate  7

The Deets:

Bring the milk almost to a simmer on the stove top.  It should be steaming but not bubbling.  In a small bowl, whisk together the cocoa powder, sugar, and salt to break up any lumps.  Add the dry ingredients all at once to the hot milk, and whisk for one minute to be sure that everything has been dissolved.  Add the vanilla and the vodka, and give the mixture a quick whisk again.  Continue heating the hot chocolate over low heat until almost simmering again.  Divide between mugs and top with mini marshmallows.  Serve immediately.

[If you are skipping the vodka, start with 2 1/2 cups of milk in your saucepan.]

The Inspiration:

Laura Bush’s Hot Chocolate – My mom’s go-to recipe.

Turntup Hot Chocolate 4

This hot chocolate is totally #racket… errr, I mean… #ratchet.

XOXO,

Tall One

2 thoughts on “Turntup Hot Chocolate

  1. I’ll have mine turntup, please! (Gahh thanks for enlightening me – I’m so not down with the lingo). Somehow I’ve eluded marshmallow vodka until now, but it sounds like the PERFECT addition to hot chocolate.

Leave a Reply

