Biscuits For 2

Biscuits For 2 1

The  Scoop:

I’ve received a lot of positive feedback ever since I began posting my Recipes For 2.  As it turns out,  there are quite a few of you whose lives look pretty similar to mine in the fact that most nights you find yourself cooking for one other person, or more often than not, just yourself.  I’ve been racking my brain for even more small batch recipes to share with you, and believe me when I say there are some good ones coming!

This biscuit recipe comes as a special request from Small One.  Last weekend she was making breakfast for herself and her spatular and all she wanted was two biscuits.  Makes sense, right?  Biscuits, unfortunately, are one of those things that just don’t heat up so great the next day.  I hate to say it but in my case, when I don’t have enough mouths to finish off a whole batch, they sometime just end up going to waste.  They are so quick to make, I’d  prefer to just bake what I need and cut the excess.

I love this recipe, because the biscuits are light, fluffy, and full of buttery layers.  I top mine with a little extra butter and some honey, but they would also be the perfect vehicle for sausage gravy or as a side to my favorite breakfast skillet.  They only take about five minutes to prep and 12 minutes to bake, so you can have piping hot biscuits on your table in under 20 minutes.  Seriously, what could be better than fresh biscuits in the middle of a polar vortex?

Yeah, let’s do this.

I’m planning to post a recipe for a small batch of buttermilk biscuits soon, which are actually my favorite, but this recipe is a close second for days when, like me, you don’t happen to have any buttermilk on hand.

Biscuits For 2 2

The Goods:

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • pinch of salt
  • 2 Tbs cold butter
  • 3 Tbs cold milk

Biscuits For 2 3

The Deets:

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.

In a bowl mix together the flour, baking powder, and salt.  Cut the butter into small pieces and add it to the flour mixture.  Use a pastry cutter or your fingers to work the butter into the dry ingredients, until the largest bits are the size of peas.  Add the milk and mix with a spoon until a loose dough has formed.

Dump the dough onto a clean counter with all the extra floury bits from the bowl.  Knead it with your hands about 10 times, just enough to form a smooth ball.  Pat the dough out into a half inch thick circle.  Use a round cookie cutter or a drinking glass to cut out 2 biscuits.  Depending on the size, you may need to cut one, re-pat the dough, and cut the second one.

Place the 2 biscuits on an ungreased baking sheet and bake for 12 minutes or until puffy and golden.

The Inspiration:

Joy Of Cooking, Rolled Biscuits, page 638.

Biscuits For 2 4

This is feeling like a good idea to me.

XOXO,

Tall One

Leave a Reply

