Bacon Cheddar Chive Dip

Bacon Cheddar Chive Dip 2

The Scoop:

Did everyone have a great Christmas?  I sure did!  Still home chillaxin’ at my parents’ house and lovin’ life.  I’ve been sleeping in, wearing nothing but yoga pants, fueling up on coffee and wine, and eating cheese and crackers at all hours of the day.  Home is wonderful, don’t ya think?

Are we all sick of party foods yet?  I’m getting there, but haven’t quite tipped over the edge yet.  So before I change my mind, I’ve got one more good one to share with you.

One of the staples on the buffet at our annual Christmas party is Bacon Cheddar Chive Dip that Roommate picks up from Wegman’s.  Everyone is crazy about this stuff and we usually end up polishing it off for breakfast the morning after the party.  I thought it would be the perfect snack to bring to both my work and church Christmas parties [which somehow happened to fall on the same day this year], but just couldn’t find the time in my busy week to drive to Wegman’s.  I was kind of bummed because I had my heart set on this dip, so when I really thought about it… I was all like: how hard could it be to make after all? 

As it turns out, not hard at all.

The ingredients in the title are the stars of the show, so I just combined them with some sour cream and mayo to bind it all together and voila… the dip was born.  I brought it to two parties, made it for Christmas at home, and definitely have it on the billet for New Year’s Eve.  Everyone goes crazy for this salty, creamy, cheesy blend, and can’t believe how simple it is to make when I list off the ingredients.

So just in case you are looking for one more guilty pleasure recipe before kicking all into New Year’s Resolution mode, this is definitely it.  And if you aren’t all about those silly resolutions, then this is also the perfect snack to accompany a playoff football Sunday.

Bacon Cheddar Chive Dip 1

The Goods:

INGREDIENTS:

  • 8 oz full fat sour cream
  • 1/4 cup mayonnaise
  • 1/2 lb thick cut bacon
  • 8 oz thick shredded sharp cheddar cheese
  • 1 bunch (approx. 8) green onions

Bacon Cheddar Chive Dip 4

The Deets:

Roughly chop the bacon, then fry in a large skillet until very crispy.  Remove the bacon with a slotted spoon and drain on a paper towel until completely cooled.

While the bacon is cooling, trip the ends off of a bunch of green onions, and thinly slice the white and light green parts.  Use a large knife to chop the green onion a little bit finer, then set aside.  Next, thinly slice the dark green ends of the green onion, and set aside.

Once the bacon has cooled, combine the sour cream [be sure to use full fat to keep the dip from getting runny] and mayo with a spatula in a medium sized bowl.  Add the bacon, cheddar, and the white/light green parts of the chopped onion.  Mix until ingredients are evenly distributed and chill until ready to serve.  When ready to serve, top the dip with the dark green slices of the onion shoot.  Spread Bacon Cheddar Chive dip on your favorite cracker.

The Inspiration:

Wegman’s Bacon Cheddar Chive Dip

Bacon Cheddar Chive Dip 5

See, I told you we’d be back to the good stuff soon enough.

XOXO,

Tall One

Leave a Reply

