Honey Mustard Roasted Brussels Sprouts

brussels sprouts 6

The Scoop:

Does anyone else feel like their insides are rotting?  Ok, really?  So its not just me? Good.  I was getting concerned.

How bout we take a break from all this holiday indulgence for a little something healthy.

No worries, we’ll be back to the good stuff soon enough, but if I don’t eat some real vegetables [as in something other than spinach dip… does the lettuce on top of taco dip count?] soon, I might explode.

So Brussels sprouts it is!

I first made these sprouts a few weeks ago, after receiving my first winter CSA box.  The fresh veggie of choice was a bag of small Brussels sprouts, straight from a farm in Lancaster County.  I never thought I liked Brussels growing up as a kid, but learned in my adult life that when prepared correctly, they are one of my favorite veggies.  I even fed them to a boy who “doesn’t like Brussels sprouts” and had only tried them on a sandwich as Jimmy John’s in college [ummmm, those are sprouts not Brussels sprouts… big difference].  Whelp, after I convinced him to at least try them [does that make me sound like a mom?] he admitted that he actually does like Brussels sprouts, as long as they are covered in honey mustard.

Hmmmm, just like I thought!

These are a great starter recipe if you are new to sprouts.  There is no long cooking time, braising them on the stove top, like with many recipes.  Just a simple 30 minute roast, and they come out of the oven perfectly tender and perfectly glazed.  The flavor of the honey mustard seeps into all those little leafy crevices, making the sprouts nothing short of tiny flavor bombs.

Yeah, you’re going to like these.

brussels sprouts 1

The Goods:

INGREDIENTS:

  • 8 oz of Brussels sprouts, trimmed and halved
  • 1 Tbs dijon mustard
  • 1 Tbs whole grain mustard
  • 1-2 Tbs honey
  • 1 Tbs olive oil

brussels sprouts 2

The Deets:

Preaheat the oven to 400 degrees.

Wash and trim the stalky end off of a half pound of Brussels sprouts, then halve them with a large knife.  If the sprouts are small, like the ones in my CSA box, go ahead and leave them whole.  Transfer the sprouts to a lightly greased 8×8 baking pan.

In a small bowl, whisk together the 2 Tbs of mustard, 1-2 Tbs of honey, and 1 Tbs of olive oil.  I typically use 2 Tbs of honey, but I can see how that might be a touch too sweet for some palates, so start with one, and add more as needed.

Pour the honey mustard mixture over the sprouts and toss gently with a wooden spoon to coat.  Roast the sprouts in a hot oven, mixing lightly every 10 minutes too keep them from sticking.  When done, the Brussels sprouts should be fork tender and coated in a honey-mustardy glaze.

The Inspiration:

Original recipe inspired by my CSA box.

brussels sprouts 4Don’t hate me, I’ll be back with the holiday junk soon enough.

XOXO,

Tall One

Leave a Reply

