Apple Cider Sangria

cider1

The Scoop:

I totally wish this was my original recipe.  I totally wish I was genius enough to dream this up first.  I totally wish I was the first one to dump wine in my apple cider.  But alas, this is a total copy cat.  I normally don’t re-post exact [almost exact] recipes from other blogs but this one has come in tow with me to so many events this fall that I absolutely had to share.  First, because it is easy as can be.  If you can open a bottle of wine and own a liquid measuring cup, then you can make this sangria.  Second, because my friends go absolutely nuts over it.  Third, because it looks so innocent, disguising itself as apple cider, but believe me when I tell you that this sangria packs a serious punch.

Appearance #1:  Roommate and I accidentally polished off an entire batch while handing out candy to trick-or-treaters on the Saturday before Halloween.  Naps immediately ensued.

Appearance  #2: I brought a batch to Maria’s house on Halloween to share with friends over snacks and story swapping.  I was driving, so I stuck to one glass this time.

Appearance  #3: Every year on the 5th of November, my friends and I celebrate Bonfire [aka Guy Faux] Night.  It was cold, so I brought a little something-something to warm everyone up a bit.  Who needs a fire when you have sangria!?

Appearance  #4: I wanted to make a special addition to the bar at Friendsgiving.  What could be more festive than apple cider with some booze in it?

Appearance  #5: Because of my long drive, my parents always tell me not to bring anything for Thanksgiving dinner.  Fortunately, sangria ingredients travel well.  Unfortunately, I’m not sure my family totally got it.  Maybe daring sangria recipes are more of a millennial thing.  I’ll probably stick to the classics at home from now on.

cider4

The Goods:

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 bottle (750 mL) of pino grigio
  • 1 cup of ginger brandy (I’ve used apple brandy before as well)
  • 3 cups of apple cider
  • 1 apple, diced

cider2

The Deets:

In a serving pitcher or large mason jar, combine the wine, brandy, and cider.  Stir to combine well.  Chill until ready to serve, adding the apple a few hours before serving.

I typically make my sangria a day ahead of time, to let the flavors blend.  I add the apple a few hours before serving to keep it nice and crisp.

cider3

The Inspiration:

One of my all time favorite recipes from Jessica at How Sweet Eats.

If Apple Cider doesn’t do it for ya, give one of my other sangria recipes a try: Watermelon Basil or Classic Red.

sangriacollageWhatever you do, it’s the holidays… so drink up!

XOXO,

Tall One

Leave a Reply

