Super Fudgy Brownies For 2

cropped3

The Scoop:

May I make a confession?

I’ve been homesick lately.  Downright homesick.

I mean, I always miss my family and wish that they lived close enough for me to share my everyday life with them, but rarely do actually yearn for home.  Until recently, that is.

May I make another confession?

I almost cried at my desk at work the other day when I thought about all the wonderful things that have been happening in my life recently that I don’t get to share with my mom and dad. [mind you, I have a very strict no crying at work policy so I managed to keep it together.]  Then almost again later that night on the phone when I called my grandma to wish her a happy 85th birthday.  Seriously friends, is there is anything quite as touching as shouting into the phone so your almost-deaf-grandmother can hear your birthday well wishes?  I think not.

May I make a final confession?

cropped1Sometimes I just need to eat a brownie.  Not a whole pan.  Just one brownie.  A really rich and fudgy one.  The kind of brownie with a soft center and crisp edges.  The kind of brownie that only takes 5 minutes to mix and 25 minutes to bake [in case you’re bad at math, that’s 30 minutes total].  The kind of brownie that soothes homesickness, heals a broken heart, or takes the edge off of a really bad day.  This is that brownie.  And I’m pretty certain you probably need it too.

It looks like I’ve made it my mission in the blogging world to shrinky dink every dessert recipe possible [so far we’ve done funfetti cake, chocolate chip cookies, and apple pie] into a portion perfect for 2 people.  Well, I’m at it again with this brownie recipe.  You could totally get away with eating it all yourself, but I recommend sharing with a friend.  We use very little flour to keep it super fudgy (just how I like it!) and just enough sugar to sweeten up that bitter cocoa powder.  Sometimes brownies can get a little dried out, but that’s totally not the case with this one.  It’s just dense, chocolate perfection.  You probably have all the ingredients in your cupboards, so go make this, like, now.

cropped2The Goods:

INGREDIENTS:

  • 2 Tbs salted butter
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 3 Tbs cocoa powder
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla
  • 1 egg white
  • 2 Tbs flour
  • 2 Tbs chocolate chips (optional)

SPECIAL EQUIPMENT:

  • Miniature loaf pan (mine is 5.75 x 3 inches and I bought it in the baking aisle  of my grocery store.)

cropped8
The Deets:

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Spray the inside of a miniature loaf pan with nonstick cooking spray.

Place the butter in a cereal (or other small) bowl.  Zap it for about 30 seconds in the microwave or until it is almost completely melted.  Remove the butter from the microwave and swirl the bowl until the butter finishes melting.  Add the sugar and cocoa powder to the butter and whisk until nearly smooth.  Add the vanilla and egg white and continue whisking until well combined.  Add the flour and whisk until the flour disappears.  Finally fold in 2 Tbs of chocolate chips if desired.  Transfer the batter to the prepared loaf pan and bake for 22-25 minutes or until a toothpick tester comes out clean.  Allow the brownie to cool in the pan before cutting it and sharing with a friend!

The Inspiration:
This is a modification of my standby brownie recipe that I discovered on Good Life Eats a few years ago.

cropped4

Do it.  Just do it.

XOXO,

Tall One

Leave a Reply

