Welcome to Wedding Week on The Spatularettes!

There’s a pretty common joke among the twenty-something’s that as soon as your first friend gets married, don’t plan on seeing a pay check or a vacation day for the next 10 years.  Definitely a bit of an exaggeration, but there is most certainly some truth behind it.  Since graduating college four and a half years ago, I’ve been a guest at ten weddings, was part of the bridal party in one of those, and am about to be a bridesmaid in another wedding this coming weekend.  (and that’s nothing compared to some of my pals)

After all the madness and the planning and the logistics during the year prior, weddings turn out to be  the ultimate party.  When else do friends and family come together from all walks of life to celebrate the same thing?   And the upcoming wedding?  Well not only is it a wedding,  but its a big fat GREEK wedding, so you know its gonna be a party! Over the last few years, Maria and Calvin have become two of my dearest friends and I couldn’t be more excited to be a part of their special day this coming Saturday.

All-in-all, weddings (and the festivities that lead up to the big day) are tons of fun.  Truly some of my sweetest memories over the last four years have involved these celebrations and I wouldn’t trade them for the world.

I threw my college roommate Katie’s bachelorette party 2 summers ago and blogged about it here, here, and here.  The how-to-throw a great bachelorette party post is actually one of my most all time viewed on the blog, and for good reason.  Bachelorette parties can get expensive quickly, but I’ve got some great tips for having big time fun on a limited budget.  I thought I’d share again for those of you who may have missed it the first time around.

THROW A BACHELORETTE PARTY ON A BUDGET

bachelorette1

When I threw Katie’s party a year and a half ago, I was still new to the cookie decorating thing, but gave these adorable lingerie cookies a try anyway.  I loved the results at the time, but since have found a great royal frosting tutorial that has really improved my cookie decorating.  Check out both posts for some how-to’s for making your own bachelorette inspired pastries.  I made lingerie cookies again for Maria’s Bachelorette Party in Atlantic City last month and was thrilled with the results.  Take a look at the photo’s below if you need some inspiration for your own.

cropped2

cropped1

Wedding Week on The Spatularette has officially begun, so keep checking back all week for fun recipes and funny stories centered around this oh-so-important-event!

XOXO,

Tall One

Leave a Reply

