Happy Birthday Little Blog!!

cropped 2

2 years ago today, on a whim, my best friend and I started a blog.  We knew a bit about cooking, how to take pictures on our iPhones, and absolutely nothing about blogging.  We just thought it might be fun.

1 year ago today I celebrated the first birthday of  that little blog.  1 year ago today, I was also feeling pretty lost.  I was half way through my 25th year of life and chin deep the middle of my quarter life crisis.  My best friend (and co-founder of this blog) had just moved to Pittsburgh, my love life was pretty much non-existent, I was feeling unsatisfied at work, and questioning nearly everything that I had once known to be true.  I was in a funk to say the least.  Funk with a capital F.

collage1

I needed an outlet.  I needed a place to share my thoughts and my feelings about the utter confusion and insanity that is your mid-twenties.  I also needed a distraction.  I needed to sink my teeth deep into a project that excited me, and challenged me, and gave me the opportunity to be creative when I broke free from my cubicle each evening.  So I bought a camera that I couldn’t really afford.  I redesigned my blog.  And I baked, fried, blended, pressed, and roasted.  I took a lot of pictures, and slowly but surely started to learn how to use that expensive impulse buy. Then I rambled.  A lot.  I rambled about cookies, and cakes, and soup, and bacon.  I told you about getting dumped via text message, the first date from hell, and boys who want to have their cake and eat it too.  I ran 3 marathons, bought a bike (which I also couldn’t really afford–I blame it on the quarter life crisis!) and completed my first triathlon.  And I rambled about it some more.  Then there was that time that I decorated cupcakes at 2AM, that time I got serious and shared my thoughts on the Boston bombings, and the time I went to a ball.  I threw some parties.  I took trips to DC, New Orleans, Pittsburgh, Cleveland, and the shore.  And rambled again.  And you listened.  And you cheered for me.  And in its own funny way this blog helped me break out of that rut that I was stuck in a year ago.  I’ve regained my confidence.  I’ve found my voice.  I’ve discovered that absolutely everybody has a story, and that each of those stories matter, and that they deserve to be shared.

To anyone who has ever clicked over to this tiny little blip of a space in the great big internet.  To anyone who has ever taste tested a creation.  To anyone who has left a comment, liked a picture on facebook, or pinned me on Pinterest.  To anyone who has ever made a recipe and told me about it.  To anyone who requested a recipe or gave me a suggestion.  To all the spatulars and spatularettes out there.  All I can say is THANK YOU.  Thank you for reading.  Thank you for encouraging.  Thank you for taking on this big, scary thing we call life with me, and for agreeing that all of the world’s biggest mysteries can be sorted out over a piece of chocolate cake.  I’m working on another re-design (coming soon–hopefully!) but in the meantime I’ll leave you with a recipe (and a little preview of some of the fun to come).

cropped3

Birthday cake for 2.  Because let’s be honest, single people don’t need 24 cupcakes sitting around their house.  They need 1 big cupcake.  Or a couple average sized ones.  If you ever find yourself with a cake craving but don’t want to be hating yourself for the next week, this is your recipe.  Its makes an exact double serving of wonderfuly moist and fluffy funfetti, perfect to be shared or hoarded… depending on your mood.

And the best news of the day?  You don’t even have to drag out your stand mixer for this one!  A bowl, a whisk, and some elbow grease will do the trick.

This would also make a great smash cake for a baby’s first birthday.  Apparently that’s something that people with babies do.  I wouldn’t know for sure, because babies are not yet even a blip on my life radar, but I have friends with some dang cute babies and I think they’d look extra adorable with funfetti frosting smeared all through their hair.

Now on with the recipe!

cropped 1

The Goods:

INGREDIENTS:

Cake:

  • 1 1/2 Tbs vegetable oil
  • 2 Tbs sugar
  • 1 egg white
  • 1/4 cup flour
  • 3/8 tsp baking powder
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1 Tbs milk
  • 1 1/2 tsp jimmies

Frosting:

  • 2 Tbs butter, at room temperature
  • 1/2 c powdered sugar
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 tsp milk

The Deets:

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Line a single jumbo muffin tin with a paper liner, or 2 regular sized tins with paper liners.  Give the liner a quick spritz of cooking spray.

In a small bowl, whisk together the vegetable oil, sugar, and egg white for one minute, or until they begin to thicken.  Add the flour, baking powder, and salt, and whisk gently until combined.  Stir in the milk and jimmies.  Be careful not to over mix, just whisk slowly until any lumps have been broken up.

Pour all of the batter into the jumbo liner, or divide it between the two average sized ones.  Bake the large cupcake for 25-28 minutes, or 18-20 minutes for the smaller ones.  Remove from the oven and cool completely before frosting.

For the frosting, use a small spatula to whip the room temperature butter until smooth.  Mix in the powdered sugar and vanilla, and continue mixing vigorously, until the sugar has all been incorporated.  Finally mix in the milk to think the frosting out just a smidge.  Generously ice the cupcake and top with additional jimmies if desired.

The Inspiration:

This recipe for funfetti layer cake.

cropped 4

hearts and stars!!!

XOXO,

Tall One

Leave a Reply

