Classic Sangria

cropped2

The Scoop:

Earlier this week I told you about The Great Glamping Trip of 2013.  I also told you about my fave snack obsession of the moment.  So what was I doing on the glamping trip when I wasn’t crunch crunch crunching on rosemary parmesan pretzels?  [besides playing campground cash BINGO of course]  Well I was sip sip sipping on this homemade sangria.

Earlier this month I told you about my all time favorite Watermelon Basil Sangria, but this classic red has to be a close runner-up.  Whenever I’m making it, I always stand in the aisle at the wines and spirits store debating over the size of bottle I should purchase.  I always reluctantly buy ‘the big one’ and am glad I do because this stuff disappears fast.

I love classic red sangria because the fruit flavors really infuse into the wine, totally transforming it into something even I-don’t-like-red-wine people can enjoy.  It also reminds me of the tinto veranos (poor man’s sangria-cheap red wine and orange Fanta) that I used to purchase for a euro during the semester I spent in Spain during college.  The scent of red wine and sweet citrus instantly floods my mind with even sweeter memories.

Quick Note: The first time I made this sangria, I mixed it in the morning and served it at dinner time and found the flavors  to be perfect.  The second time I made it, I mixed it and let it sit in the fridge for a day and a half before serving.  This time I found the grapefruit flavor to be a little overpowering.  My recommendation when making sangria in advance is to combine all of the ingredients except the  grapefruit in advance.  Then  simply slice and add the grapefruit a few hours before serving.

cropped4

The Goods:

  • 1.5 mL bottle merlot
  • 1 cup triple sec
  • 1 grapefruit
  • 2 oranges
  • 4 plums (or other stone fruit)
  • 2 cups tonic water

cropped6

The Deets:

Slice the fruit into a large bowl.  Cover with the wine and the triple sec.  Use a potato masher to gently crush the fruit to release some of the juices into the sangria.  Separate the fruit and liquid into 2 containers.  Top each container with 1 cup of tonic water and refrigerate for at least 6 hours before serving.

The Inspiration:

Original Recipe

cropped3

Cheers!  Salud!  Drink up, friends!

XOXO,

Tall One

One thought on “Classic Sangria

Leave a Reply

