S’mores Bundt Cake

cropped 1

The Scoop:

First and formost, thanks for bearing with me over the last few months as things slowed down a bit in the food department.  I was kinda sorta doing this big triathlon thing last weekend and it was dominating the majority of my free time.  The race (and training for it!) was an incredible and empowering experience that I can’t wait to tell you all about, but I’m also looking forward to having more time to get back into the kitchen and back at the blog.  I have lots of good stuff I want to share with you guys!

If you recall, in my last recipe post, I dramatically cried and wailed about the end of summer, but over the past few days I’ve realized two things about the change of the season.  1) Summer is definitely not over yet (hello 90 degree days!).  Technically is stretches until the September 21 and I plan to drag it out until then.  2) I actually love the autumn months and even though I’m still holding on to summer, I started cycling some fall wardrobe updates into my weekly wear and I ordered my first pumpkin coffee over the weekend and definitely didn’t hate it.

BUT, since we all agree (errrr, I say) that it’s still summer out there, I’m going to hit you this week with a couple recipes celebrating my favorite summer treat: S’MORES!!  Nothing beats smooshing a perfectly toasted golden marshmallow between two grahams with some melty Hershey’s chocolate, but sometimes I like putting my own little twist on this classic.

Here I do fun spin on my favorite chocolate bundt cake recipe and mix some mini mallows into the batter and top the whole thing with a sticky layer of marshmallows and graham cracker crumbs.  YUM.

I used this cake recipe as the base for my Mexican Chocolate Cake last winter, and its always a hit.  The amazing thing about it is that it stays fresh for almost a week, becoming more moist and flavorful with each passing day.  It’s like magic cake or something.  It’s also crazy addicting in a just-one-more-nibble kind of way.  Like when you get home at 10:15 on a Sunday night and need a bedtime snack.  Or first thing when you wake up on Monday morning and need a little something-something to get your day started.  Yeah, it’s a doozey.

cropped 3

The Goods:

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 1/4 cup prepared coffee (brewed or instant)
  • 1 cup cocoa powder (I like using special dark)
  • 2 1/2 cups flour
  • 1 1/4 tsp salt
  • 2 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 1/4 cup sour cream
  • 1 cup plus 2 Tbs vegetable oil
  • 2 1/2 cups mini marshmallows, divided
  • 1 Tbs shortening
  • 1/2 cup graham cracker crumbs (approx 4 sheets of graham crackers)

SPECIAL EQUIPMENT:

  • 10 inch bundt pan

cropped 2

The Deets:

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Grease and flour a bundt pan.

In a small bowl, combine the coffee and cocoa powder and set aside.  In the bowl of a stand mixer combine the flour, salt and baking soda.  In a separate bowl, whisk together the eggs, granulated sugar, and brown sugar.  Add the sour cream and oil, and continue mixing until well incorporated.

Add the egg mixture to the dry ingredients in the stand mixer, and beat on medium speed for about a minute, or until most of the lumps have been broken up.  Add the coffee/cocoa mixtures and mix on low speed for another minute.  Finally fold in 1 1/2 cups of mini marshmallows.

Pour the batter into the prepared bundt pan and bake for 45 minutes to an hour, or until a toothpick tester comes out clean.  Let the cake cool in the pan for about 20 minutes, then gently run a knife along the edges and invert the cake onto a cooling rack to remove it from the pan.

When the cake has cooled completely, melt 1 cup of mini marshmallows with 1 Tbs of shortening in a saucepan over low heat on the stove top.  When the the mixture is thin enough to pour, drizzle it over the cake and top the whole thing with a generous helping of graham cracker crumbs.  Let the marshmallow topping cool before slicing and serving.

cropped 4

The Inspiration:

Joy the Baker Cookbook

cropped 5

Check back in the next few days for my very favorite s’mores recipe, and a round up of some of my other favs!!

XOXO,

Tall One

Leave a Reply

