Whole Wheat Banana Chocolate Chip Pancakes

cropped1

The Scoop:

I didn’t plan it this way but my go-to recovery food after a tough weekend workout has been pancakes.  But not your standard every day buttermilk pancakes.  We’ve been getting crazy up here in the Spatularette kitchen making breakfast birthday cake and pineapple upside down style.  Today I decided to take our pancakes down a little bit of a healthier road (but not toooooooo healthy), since I am in training after all.

These whole wheat banana chocolate chip pancakes are inspired by Roommates’s favorite mini muffin recipe.  Whenever she makes them, you’ll find me standing in the kitchen along side her, popping those babies in my mouth like candy.  They are so incredibly addicting, and also the perfect base for a new pancake recipe!

To make these cakes a little more nutritious, I swapped whole wheat flour for the white flour, and the use of banana significantly cuts down the amount of oil required to keep them moist.  I use brown sugar in place of regular granulated sugar to make the batter just a little more rich, so the addition of chocolate chips is the only real splurge.

But really… I consider dark chocolate a health food.

cropped6

I’ve made this recipe several times and the best results came when I used a very ripe banana and mini chocolate chips.  I made and photographed these cakes the morning after 4th of July when my neighborhood market was closed.  Therefore, I had to purchase my banana at Starbucks when I stopped to buy the gigantic iced coffee that I desperately needed to ward off the headache lingering from too much patriotic fun the previous night.  This was the ripest banana in the bowl, so I went with it.  It wasn’t as sweet as a mushy brown banana, but the cakes were still banana-y and delicious.  I also prefer to use mini dark chocolate chips, but all I had in the fridge were some standard semi-sweets so I tossed them in.

What I’m trying to say here is, its ok to improvise.

cropped4

The Goods:

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 2 Tbs brown sugar
  • 1 very ripe banana
  • 1 egg
  • 1 Tbs oil
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips (I prefer to use mini chips)

cropped3

The Deets:

We’re doing this, quick and easy!  In a large bowl whisk together 1 cup whole wheat flour, 2 tsp baking power, 1/4 tsp salt, and 2 Tbs brown sugar.

In a medium bowl, use a fork or potato masher to mash a ripe banana.  Add 1 egg, 1 Tbs of oil, and 1/2 cup milk.  Stir until well combined.  Pour the banana mixture into the dry increadients and whisk until all of the dry ingredients have been incorporated, but don’t over mix… its ok to have a few lumps.  Finally use a spatula to fold in the chocolate chips.

Heat a skillet or non-stick pan over medium heat and spray with non-stick cooking spray.

Pour 1/4 cup of batter directly onto  the hot surface and allow it to cook for approximately 2 minutes, or until the edges begin to firm up and the tops get bubbly.  Flip the pancake and cook for an additional minute.  This recipe yields 6 sweet and fluffy pancakes.

cropped 2

The Inspiration:

Roommate’s mini banana chocolate chip muffins.

Looking for other healthy pancake recipes?  Try The Spatuarette Power Cakes or The Spatularette Green Pancakes!

cropped5

Totally healthy, right?

XOXO,

Tall One

Leave a Reply

