Zucchini Leek and Mushroom Quiche

cropped2

The Scoop:

I’ve been promising you another breakfast recipe from my Bike Race Brunch for the last week and a half, but somehow its taken me all this time to get it posted.  You guys loved the Huevos Rancheros Taquitos so I’m super excited to share another of my morning favs with you today!

Quiche is a party hosts’ dream.  Omelettes and pancakes sound like a good idea, but they are just way too labor intensive to serve to a crowd.  There is nothing worse than sweating your butt off in the kitchen, flipping hotcakes, while your guests are all in the living room having a ball.  On the other hand, there is nothing demanding about making a quiche.  There is a little bit of prep work ahead of time, but when your guests arrive its wham bam thank you ma’am, and your quiche is in and out of the oven before you know it.

I created this quiche recipe to serve at the final super brunch before my last marathon, and have been obsessed  with it ever since.  Its completely vegetarian, but just as filling as many meaty dishes, and features my secret perfect quiche ingredient: ricotta cheese.  I use whole milk ricotta cheese in place of another liquid such a buttermilk, and find that it gives the quiche the most perfectly creamy texture.  After the success with this recipe, I even started substituting it into some of my other favorite quiche recipes as well.

cropped1

The Goods:

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 pie crust
  • 8 eggs
  • 1 cup ricotta cheese
  • 1/4 cup + 2 Tbs grated Parmesan cheese
  • 3/4 tsp salt (divided)
  • 1/4 tsp pepper (divided)
  • 1 cup sliced zucchini (1 small zucchini)
  • 1 cup sliced mushrooms
  • 1 cup  sliced leeks (1 leek, white and light green parts)
  • 1 Tbs butter
  • 1 Tbs olive oil

collage

The Deets:

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

Ok I’m just going to start off my saying something that a lot of you won’t like (but many of you will).  I use a store bought refrigerated pie crust here.  I think the Pillsbury ones work great, but if you are anti store bought crusts, then by all means, use your favorite crust recipe.  My argument is that I was throwing a brunch party and needed to take a shortcut somewhere, and this happened to be it.  Rant over.  On with the recipe!

Start by pressing your pie crust into a 9 inch ceramic pie or tart dish.  I poke mine with a fork a few times to keep it from bubbling.

cropped5

For the filling, you’ll want your veggies to be thinly sliced.  I cut both the zucchini and the leeks into half moons.  First I cut them in half lengthwise, then carefully slice into bit size bits.  The mushrooms I typically by pre-sliced, but they are easy enough to cut up if you buy them whole.  Heat 1 Tbs of butter and 1 Tbs of oil over medium-high heat in a large skillet.  Saute the veggies along with 1/2 tsp salt and 1/8 tsp pepper for about 10 minutes or until soft.  The leeks will actually start to get a little bit crispy which is exactly what you want.

While the veggies are cooking, whisk 8 eggs in a large bowl.  Add 1 cup of ricotta cheese and continuing whisking until almost smooth.  Add 1/4 cup grated Parmesan, 1/4 tsp salt, and 1/8 tsp pepper.  Whisk until all ingredients are well combined.

When the veggies are done, transfer them to the prepared pie crust.  Pour the egg/ricotta mixture over the veggies, and gently stir to make sure everything is evenly distributed.  Grate another 2 Tbs of Parmesan cheese over the top of the quiche.

Bake on the bottom rack of the hot oven for 30 minutes.  I typically bake my quiche uncovered without a problem, but if you see yours getting too browned, simply cover it with foil for the remainder of the baking time.

cropped4

The Inspiration:

Original Recipe

cropped3Serve this baby with a mimosa (or even better, Ambassador’s Cocktail).  Trust me.  I know these things.

XOXO,

Tall One

One thought on “Zucchini Leek and Mushroom Quiche

Leave a Reply

