Huevos Rancheros Taquitos

cropped 2

The Scoop:

When I was planning out the menu for Bike Race Brunch, I made a list of all my favorite dishes from past years, but realized I still needed one more savory item.  I couldn’t quite decide what I wanted, but for some reason my mind kept wandering back to huevos rancheros.  I like a challenge, but huevos rancheros are literally impossible to serve to a crowd… or are they?  Since my mind was locked on this south of the border favorite, I set out on a mission to figure out just how the heck I could make them for 50 people.  My first thought was a casserole, but let’s be honest, breakfast casseroles can get a little weird.  But then it hit me:  TAQUITOS!  Wrap up all of my favorite huevos rancheros ingredients inside a little taco shell and bake it to crispy perfection.  Yeah, baby!

These taquitos really were the hit of the brunch table.  So many of my friends stopped to ask me what was stuffed inside. These little guys pack a big punch of flavor all rolled up in the perfect hand-held vehicle.  I love smothering my taquitos in corn salsa and sour cream, or dipping them in a big bowl of guacamole, but I’ll admit that they are pretty darn tasty on their own.  The crunch of the baked flour tortilla is perfectly balanced out by the ooey-gooey-cheesy filling inside.  As an added bonus, they reheat easily, so if you happen to have some left overs, you’ve got yourself bonus time the following morning!

cropped 1

The Goods:

  • 20 small flour taco tortillas (6 inch)
  • 4 eggs
  • 6 oz spicy sausage, I used anduille, but chorizo would be great
  • 15.5 oz can cuban style black beans**
  • 8 oz shredded cheddar cheese
  • cooking spray

**I buy my Cuban style black beans at Trader Joe’s.  If you can’t find them, drain (but don’t  rinse) a can of black beans and mix it with a 4 oz can of chopped green chilies.

cropped 5

The Deets:

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees and spray a half sheet baking sheet with non-stick cooking spray.  Any large baking sheet will work, just try to use one with a lip around the edge.

Drain, but don’t  rinse the can of black bean and set aside.

In a skillet on the stove top, cook the sausage over medium heat, breaking it up into small bits with the back of a wooden spoon as you go.  Once the sausage is cooked through, crack four directly into the skillet and scramble them with the meat as they cook.  When the eggs are no longer runny, turn off the heat and set the mixture aside.

collage1

To assemble the taquitos, spray one side of the flour tortilla with nonstick cooking spray.  Flip it over and spread 1 tablespoon of shredded cheddar on the surface of the tortilla.  Top the cheese  with 1 tablespoon of the egg/sausage mixture and an additional tablespoon of Cuban black beans.  Tightly roll the taquito and place it, seam side down on the prepared baking sheet.  Repeat with the remaining tortilla shells.  Bake in the oven for 20-25 minutes or until the shells lightly browned and crispy.

cropped 3

The Inspiration:

Original Recipe

cropped 7

Buenos Dias. Good Morning.  De Nada.

XOXO,

Tall One

3 thoughts on “Huevos Rancheros Taquitos

Leave a Reply

