Birthday Cake Pancakes

cropped 1

The Scoop:

It’s finally here.  Marathon week!  I’ve been training  for the last 4 months with my sights set on running 26.2 in Pittsburgh, PA.  It was a bitter cold winter here in Philly this year which made training extra tough this time around.  Even so, week after week I woke up at 7 AM on Saturday morning to long run with my training partners.  The miles were long, but the conversation was good, so even on 3 hour runs, the time went quickly.

Typically with about 3 miles to go, my running partners and I would begin discussing what we planned to eat when we completed our run.  The guys always went back and forth, debating between eggs and pancakes.  I on the other hand said, “why choose?” We just ran 20 miles, I want eggs and  pancakes!

And so Super Brunch was born.

cropped 2Each week after returning from my long run, I’d round up my friends in the neighborhood and we would make Super Brunch.  There were always eggs, there were always hash browns, there were always biscuits, and most weeks there was breakfast sausage.  The truly defining characteristic of Super Brunch though were the dessert pancakes.  We made lemon poppy seed pancakes, we made oatmeal cookie pancakes, and we made these birthday cake pancakes.

Now I know you think you’ve had fluffy pancakes before, but trust me when I say you don’t know fluffy until you try this recipe.  My housemate Pam used to make us a more basic version of these cakes on Sunday mornings during our senior year of college and I could never get over just how cakey they were.  So when I wanted to try and make birthday cake pancakes for Super Brunch, I new just the recipe to start with.  I subbed butter for oil, sweetened them up a bit, and added cute sprinkles for a funfetti look.  I absolutely loved the results, as did my friends, so I couldn’t wait to make them again and share them with you.  These pancakes are awesome on any weekend morning, but I think, given the name, they’d be an absolutely perfect treat for a birthday morning breakfast.

cropped 5

The Goods:

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 1/2 c flour
  • 1 Tbs baking powder
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup milk
  • 4 Tbs butter, melted
  • 3 Tbs of multi-colored sprinkles

cropped 3

The Deets:

In a large bowl, combine the flour, baking powder, sugar, and salt.  In a separate bowl, whisk together the egg, milk, and melted butter.  Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients, and stir, just until combined.  Then mix in the sprinkles.  The batter will be thicker than a traditional pancake batter, which is what makes these cakes so fluffy.

Heat a non-stick pan or griddle over medium heat and coat the surface with cooking spray.  Ladle a 1/4 cup of  batter into the pan and spread evenly.  Cook the pancake for two minutes or until the edges begin to brown and the top gets bubbly.  Flip the pancake and cook for another two minutes, or until both sides are browned and the center is firm.

Serve birthday cake pancakes with butter and syrup, or with homemade whipped cream.

The Inspiration:

A slight adaptation of my friend Pam’s favorite fluffy pancake recipe.

cropped 4Oh happy morning.

XOXO,

Tall One

One thought on “Birthday Cake Pancakes

Leave a Reply

