Whole Wheat Pasta with Shrimp and Bacon

cropped1

The Scoop:

This isn’t exactly going to come as a shock since I write a blog about it, but I’m a super duper foodie nerd. I love everything about it. I love cooking, grocery shopping, baking birthday cakes, and trying new recipes.  I love making food, talking about food, sharing food, and eating food.  Just last weekend I was in central PA for a girls weekend with my college roommates and I spent an embarrassing amount of time discussing cuts of pork with my friend’s husband over dinner on Friday night.  I think my foodiness reaches an all time high though whenever I purchase a new cookbook.  I read those babies like a novel, sometimes in bed, marking pages that I’m dying to come back to.  I try the first recipe that really jumps out at me, then I go back and re-read, looking for hidden gems that I may have missed my first time through.

My most recent purchase, at the recommendation of a friend, was Weeknights With Giada.  I also own Giada’s Kitchen and have made a ton of recipes from it, all to rave reviews.  Giada has never led me astray before and her Weeknights book is no different.  It is full of realistic recipes that feel a little more special than a typical mid-week dinner, but are totally do-able, even after a long day at work.  No crazy ingredients or tedious methods, just fun, different ways to get dinner on the table in a snap. Whenever I buy a new cookbook, I always like to share a recipe on here with you.  As soon as I started flipping through the pages of my most recent conquest, I knew I would have to try this pasta with shrimp and bacon. And as soon as I made it, I knew I had no choice but to share it with you.  This dish is rich and comforting, but not in an overly heavy way. The whole wheat pasta stands up nicely against the creamy tomato sauce, and it all is lightened up with the addition of shrimp and fresh basil.  The few simple ingredients come together beautifully and will leave you with leftovers that you are actually excited to eat!

cropped5

The Goods:

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 lb whole wheat pasta such as fettuccine  or linguine
  • 1 lb thick cut bacon, cut into 1/2 inch pieces
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 14.5 oz can diced tomatoes, with juice
  • 1 cup heavy cream
  • 3/4 chicken broth or white wine (original recipe calls for clam juice)
  • 1 cup fresh basil, chopped
  • 1 1/2 lb large shrimp, peeled and deveined
  • salt and pepper

cropped2

The Deets:

Boil a large pot of salted water, and cook pasta until al dente.  Drain and set aside.

Meanwhile, cook bacon over medium-high heat in a skillet on the stove top for about 10 minutes or until crispy.  Remove the cooked bacon with a slotted spoon and set aside.  If it was very fatty drain a little bit of the grease from the skillet before continuing.  The bottom of the skillet should be coated with a thin layer of grease, but no more.

Add the garlic to the hot bacon grease in the skillet and cook for about 30 seconds before adding the tomatoes, cream, wine, and basil.  Bring the mixture to a boil, stirring occasionally, being sure to scrape up the brown bits in the bottom of the pan.  Season to taste with salt and pepper.  Once boiling, turn the heat down to medium and let the sauce simmer for 10-15 minutes, or until slightly thickened.

Add the shrimp and cook, stirring occasionally, for about 3 minutes, or until the shrimp have turned pink.  Add the bacon and pasta back in, and toss the ingredients gently while cooking for another two minutes.  Serve immediately.

**This recipe makes a lot so I like to halve it.  When halving the tomatoes I recommending using all of the diced tomatoes and about half of the juice.

cropped3

The Inspiration:

A slight adaptation of Whole Wheat Linguine with Basil, Bacon, and Shrimp in Weeknights With Giada.

cropped4

Comfort.  I need this.  You need this.  We need this.

XOXO,

Tall One

Leave a Reply

