Crabocado (Crab Stuffed Avocados)

cropped 4

The Scoop:

It’s finally springtime in Philadelphia.  Like… it’s actually here now.  And I am freaking high on it.   Each and every year between the months of January and March, I question why on earth I still live in the state of Pennsylvania.  Then without fail, April arrives yet again and I remember just why I love living here so much.  There is something straight up magical about the change of the season and the feelings that accompany that change every single time.  Spring has sprung, baby!  Can I get an AMEN?

cropped 3

I want to tell you all about this recipe.  But I also want to tell you all about my weekend.  It was the first real spring weekend of the year, and boy did we do it right.  It was the perfect combination of all my favorite things:  Lots of sunshine, two tailgates, a 22 mile run, crab fries, super brunch, tennis, mango gelati from Ritas, cute boys, a Phillies game, dancing til 2AM, dinner at Parc, catching up with an old friend, and did I mention the very beginning of tan lines?  Like I said, absolute perfection.  Roommate was out of town for the weekend, but her sister (who I lovingly refer to as JBG) spent the entire weekend with me, as we giddily soaked up every ounce of its 70 degree glory.

Like my weekend, this recipe is also the perfect combination of all my favorite things:  Avocado, crab meat, bacon, veggies, and cheese.   Avocados are to my dinner table just as Phillies games are to my weekend.  My adoration for afternoon gelatis and late night dancing, may only be trumped by my love of bacon.  And crab meat?  Well in my humble opinion, crab meat can brighten any dish in the same way that the April sun brightens my spirits.

When it comes down to it, Crabocados are nothing more than me dumping all of my favorite ingredients in a bowl, throwing it in  the oven, topping it with cheese, and calling it day.  But the results?  They were worth writing about.  Another thing I love about this recipe is that it’s the perfect “meal for one” but can be easily multiplied when cooking for others.  And the other bonus?  Since you eat these bad boys right out  of the avocado skins, you don’t even have to worry about washing the dinner plates at the end of the night.  In the famous  words of Michael Scott, that sounds like a win-win-win to me.

cropped 2

The Goods:

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 avocado
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • 1/4 tsp smoked paprika
  • 1/4 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 2 strips of thick cut bacon
  • 1 Tbs finely chopped red onion
  • 2 Tbs chopped tomato
  • 1/2 cup crab meat
  • 1 Tbs shredded cheddar cheese

cropped 1

The Deets:

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

Using a sharp knife, carefully slice a ripe avocado in half.  Scoop the contents into a bowl and set the empty skins aside.  Use a fork to mash the avocado, just as you would when making guacamole, and mix in the cumin, smoked paprika, garlic powder, and salt.  If you don’t have all of these spices on hand, no worries, just use your favorite guacamole seasonings, or keep it simple and stick with the salt and garlic powder.  Set the prepared avocado aside.

Use a sharp knife to cut 2 strips of thick cut bacon into small chunks.  Cook the bacon on the stove top until crispy (about 8 minutes) and remove from the pan, setting it aside to drain.

Once the bacon has cooled a bit, mix it into the avocado along with the chopped red onion, chopped tomato, and crab meat.  (A quick note on the crab meat: make sure to buy the good stuff from the refrigerator section of the grocery store, not the kind you find by the canned tuna.  No need to splurge on the lump meat, as long as you buy the real stuff).  Fill the reserved avocado skins with the crab-bacon-avocado mixture and place them, filling side up, in an oven safe baking dish.  Bake for 20 minutes, remove from the oven and sprinkle with cheese, then return to the oven to bake for another 5 minutes.

Remove the Crabocados from the oven, allow to cool for five minutes, and then enjoy with a spoon!

The Inspiration:

All my favorite things : )

cropped 5

Almost as good as a spring weekend.

XOXO,

Tall One

Leave a Reply

