Fitness Friday: Green Smoothie

cropped1

The Scoop:

My schedule has been jam packed lately.  Full of good things: work and social obligations, grad school, my church group, marathon training, and visits from friends and family.  I’ve just been chaotically on  the go for much of the last month and unfortunately when things start to get crazy, I’m not the best at taking care of myself.  I’ve found myself eating out more than usual, drinking alcohol more frequently, downing coffee like it’s my second job, and since I’m a notorious stress eater, shoveling chocolate into my mouth at all hours of the day.  Quite frankly my poor bod can’t take it anymore and I’m starting to pay the price.  I’ve just been feeling off physically as of late and knew it was time to make a few adjustments.  I’m doing a number of things to clean up my diet a bit, but my favorite change has been introducing green smoothies into my daily routine.  They work great for breakfast, snack, or lunch on the go, but I’ve taken to substituting them for dessert after dinner in the evenings.  Green smoothies are packed with nutrients to fuel my body, but also with plenty of natural sugar to help satisfy my overactive sweet tooth.  I tried a number of different flavor combos but my very favorite was pineapple-orange-banana.  Yum!

cropped3

The Goods:

INGREDIENTS:

  • Half 10 oz block of frozen chopped spinach
  • 1/2 cup vanilla Greek yogurt
  • 1/2 cup fresh pineapple chunks
  • 1 orange, peel and pith removed
  • 1 small banana (or half large banana)
  • 4 oz juice (I used Goya mango nectar)

SPECIAL EQUIPMENT:

  • Blender

cropped4

The Deets:

Start by breaking the block of frozen spinach in half.  I find this works best when I zap it in the microwave for about 30 seconds which thaws it just enough that it breaks in half when you take to it with a large knife.  I simply bag the other half and toss it back in the freezer to use the next day.

It really couldn’t get more simple from there.  Combine all of the ingredients in the blender.  Pulse a few times until the spinach block breaks up a bit.  Then blend for about a minute or until nice and smooth.  Add more juice if needed.  My blender is pretty crappy, so I usually have to jab at the spinach a few times with a wooden spoon to help break it up while blending.  If your blender cost more than $20, you probably won’t need to worry about that step.

This recipe makes about two 12 oz servings of green smoothie.  The possibilities for the fruit combinations are endless, so get creative!  My second favorite combo was banana-strawberry-kiwi.

And if you’re wondering if you can taste the spinach, the answer is NO.  Seriously, you can’t!  It give it a little bit of texture and obviously color, but doesn’t effect the flavor one bit!

cropped2

The healthier side of St Patty’s Day ;  )

XOXO,

Tall One

Leave a Reply

