Fitness Friday: Infused Water

cropped1

The Scoop:

I know it’s been a few weeks, but I’m back with another edition of Fitness Friday here on The Spatularettes.  Despite the freezing cold temps this winter, I’ve managed to stick to my training plan and still have my focus set on the Pittsburgh Marathon this May.  I’ve been doing my best to eat a well balanced diet and have been supplementing it with copious amounts of chocolate ; )

Just as important as eating right while marathon training is drinking right.  I have no problem staying well hydrated in the summer, but often times in the winter  since I’m not sweating as much, I simply forget about drinking water.  I decided to change up my hydration a little bit by infusing my water with some fabulous, natural, zero calorie additions.  It really worked too, because this water tasted so good that I had no problem polishing off the entire pitcher myself!

The best part?  This flavor combo is actually inspired by my all time favorite brunch cocktail served at Parc, The Basalic.  I stuck with the same basic ingredients and just eliminated the booze to make it marathon training friendly.

cropped3

The Goods:

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1/2 cucumber, thinly sliced
  • 1/2 lemon, thinly sliced
  • Juice of half a lemon
  • 1 tsp fresh grated ginger root
  • 1/4 cup basil leaves, torn
  • 6-8 cups water.

The Deets:

In a pitcher, combine the cucumber slices, lemon slices, lemon juice, grated ginger, and basil leaves.  Use a wooden spoon to muddle the ingredients a little bit.  Fill the pitcher with 6-8 cups of water and refrigerate overnight or for up to a few days.  The longer the water sits, the more infused it will become.  It took me a couple of days to finish my pitcher of infused water, and I enjoyed it because the flavor changed each time I tried it.

Not a fan of the ingredients listed above?  Try limes or oranges instead of lemons, or mint in place of the basil.  Be creative, the options are endless!  Just be sure to drink your water!!

The Inspiration:

The Basalic cocktail on the brunch menu at Parc .

cropped2

Get your drink on.

XOXO,

Tall One

Leave a Reply

