Crispy Oven Baked Fries With Curry Ketchup

cropped 1

The Scoop:

My parents are super cool.  Seriously.  They are.

Remember that scene in Mean Girls where Regina’s Mom offers the girls booze and says “I’m not a normal mom, I’m coooool mom.”

Well my parents are cooooooool parents.

Let’s rewind a little bit, because growing up and all through high school they were not the coooooool mom and dad.  That’s because they are good parents.  They asked where I was going, what time I’d be home, and they defintiely were not supportive of underage drinking.  They never bought me a car or a cell phone.  I was allowed to borrow theirs until I could afford my own.  I wasn’t allowed to have boys in my room, I had not choice but to get up for church every Sunday, and I wasn’t permitted to skip family dinner (every night).  But they never missed a single cross country or track meet, chauffeured me between activities, tolerated my teenage dramatics, and helped me through ever step of the college application process.  Like I said, good parents, not cool parents.

Now that I’ve grown into a self sufficient adult who has moved out of their house and stopped asking to borrow money, they’ve turned into the cool parents (still good parents though!)  Whenever they come to visit, their favorite thing to do is just hang out with my friends and I to see what we do on normal weekends.  When they paid me a visit over President’s Day weekend, Roommate, our friend Bill and I took Mom and Dad on an all-day food and beer adventure, and we all had a blast!

We started off our afternoon with a sampler and a tour at the Yards Brewery on Delaware Ave.  We then moved over to Fishtown for beers and appetizers at Frankford Hall, and finished off the evening at Fette Sau, the BBQ joint next door.  I’m a huge fan of Frankford Hall, the Steven Starr owned German beer garden.  The atphosphere can’t be beat, absolutely begging you to have fun:  Free ping pong, Jenga games on every table, a fire pit with s’mores outside, beer by the half or whole liter, and a short but impressive food menu.  The soft pretzel with cheese dip is unlike anything you’ve tried before, but the french fries with curry ketchup always steal the show for me.

I was super bummed to say goodbye to my parents after a fantastic weekend, but felt inspired to re-create my Frankford Hall favorite at home.  Instead of deep frying, I chose to oven bake mine to keep things a little lighter.  Want to know the secret for perfectly crispy oven baked fries?  Corn starch!  Who knew??  And what about this curry and ketchup business?  I’d never have thought of it myself, but trust me when I say the flavor combination is out of this world!

cropped 4

The Goods:

**makes 1 serving.  multiply as you see fit.

INGREDIENTS:

Oven Baked Fries:

  • 1 medium russet potato
  • 1/2 Tbs vegetable oil
  • 1 Tbs cornstarch
  • salt (table, sea, or kosher)

Curry Ketchup:

  • 2 Tbs ketchup
  • 1/2 tsp curry powder (approx)

cropped2

The Deets:

Preheat the oven to 450 degrees. and spray a baking sheet with non-stick cooking spray.

Rinse and dry a russet potato.  Skin it if you like, but I’m a fan of more rustic fries, so I just leave the skins on.  Stand the potato long ways and slice it into 1/4 inch thick planks.  Place the planks in two stacks and slice them into 1/4 inch sticks.  Once cut, transfer the potatoes to a bowl and drizzle them with a 1/2 Tbs of vegetable oil.  Sprinkle them with 1 Tbs of corn starch and gently toss until all of the potatoes are evenly coated.

Transfer the potatoes to the prepared baking sheet and spread them evenly in a single layer.  Bake in the oven for 30-34 minutes, gently tossing and turning them every 10 minutes.  After 30 minutes, try a french fry for their doneness.  Remove from the oven when the desired amount of crispiness is achieved and salt generously.

To make the ketchup, simply whisk together the curry powder and your favorite prepared ketchup.  Curry powders range drastically in their intensity of flavor,  so you may have to play with the proportions to see what you like best.

collage1

The Inspiration:

The French Fries and Curry Ketchup at Frankford Hall in Fishtown.

The recipe for the oven baked fries was adapted from my brand new Joy The Baker cookbook.

cropped3You’re gonna want to do this.  Soon.

XOXO,

Tall One

Leave a Reply

