Fitness Friday: Eat Your Greens Pancakes

crropped 1

The Scoop:

Hey guys, I have to tell you something.  I did it again.  I said I wasn’t going to, but I did.

I signed up for another marathon.

I just can’t help myself.  I’m a total weirdo and addicted to long runs.  This time I’ll be running 26.2 miles around The Steel City on Sunday, May 4th as part of Pittsburgh Marathon.  My original plan was to run the half marathon or a leg of the relay, but after a little coaxing from some former teammates and some current co-workers, I succumbed to peer pressure and decided to register for the full shebang.  (uhhhhh nerd alert!)

Last fall while training for the Marine Corps Marathon, I did a series of Power Food Fridays here on The Spatularettes, sharing some of my favorite healthy and energizing recipes.  You guys seemed to like it, so now that  I’m back in the swing of marathon training, I thought it would be fun to do another fitness based series.  I’ll bring you more power foods, but I also want to share some of my favorite workouts and inspiration that helps me get my butt out the door for a workout on a cold winter morning.  There are loads of great ways to stay in shape without ever running a step, so even though I’m a self proclaimed running dork, we’ll talk about some of my other favorite fitness crazes as well!  Blonde Ponytail is one of my favorite fitness blogs to follow and is also the inspiration for today’s recipe.

I know what you’re thinking… green pancakes!?!  you gotta be kidding me!  But friends, trust me when I say that these things are good!  I’m not going to lie and tell you that you can’t taste the greens, because you can a little bit.  But since when was eating vegetables a bad thing??  And I think the flavor of the greens perfectly compliments the whole wheat flour, oatmeal, and fresh fruit topping.  You’ll feel seriously awesome about yourself while eating your green pancakes and then you’ll feel seriously full for the rest of the morning.

The Goods:

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 cup raw kale leaves, stems removed
  • 1 cup liquid egg whites
  • 1/4 cup buttermilk
  • 1 Tbs chia seeds
  • 1 Tbs sugar
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 2 tsp baking powder

SPECIAL EQUIPMENT:

  • Food processor

cropped 2

The Deets:

In the bowl of a food processor combine kale leaves, egg whites, and buttermilk.  Run for about 30 seconds or until the kale has nearly been obliterated.  It’ll look like green milk with teeny tiny confetti of kale swimming around.  Add all of the dry ingredients and pulse  until well combined.  Ladle a half cup of batter onto a hot nonstick pan and cook for about 4 minutes.  When the pancake is ready to flip, the batter will be bubbly and the edges will be firm.  Flip the pancake and cook for about 2 more minutes on the other side, or until it is evenly browned.  This recipe will make 4 good sized pancakes, and I felt like 2 were a sufficient breakfast with a side of turkey bacon.  Top your cakes with honey, Greek yogurt, real maple syrup, or pureed strawberries like I did!

The Inspiration:

The Blonde Ponytail recipe files.

cropped 3

Power on a plate.  Boom.

XOXO,

Tall One

Leave a Reply

