Mexican Chocolate Bundt Cake

cropped 2

The Scoop:

Much of the time I  feel  like my social life is more closely aligned with that of a college student than that of an actual grownup.  I attend a lot of sporting events, I go see cover bands play in dark/loud/sweaty bars, I invite friends over to sit on my IKEA futon and drink wine and watch trashy reality TV, I host parties where a keg is one of the beverage options, I eat at super trendy restaurants, and I make it til 2AM at least once a week.  Honestly, being a fake grownup is great most of the time!  I make a respectable salary and therefore am able to live on my own and do said fun things listed above, but don’t have serious responsibilities (read: a mortgage and kids).

I can’t help but wonder sometimes though what real grownups do for fun, because unfortunately from what I’ve heard it usually involves one of  the following: A little league baseball game, the 4th grade choir concert, Disney movies and popcorn on the couch, birthday parties with 2 liters of pop (aka soda), dinner at CiCi’s pizza, and 9PM bedtimes.  Now clearly my maternal instinct hasn’t quite kicked in yet, because I have no doubt that those things really are fun and  fulfilling, but what do real grownups do with other real grownups for fun… you know, when the kids aren’t around??

On Friday night I  got my answer.  Real grownups have dinner parties.  And as it turns out, they happen to be really fun!

On Saturday night I sat at home and did absolutely nothing… which is another thing that I’m pretty sure real grownups do for fun.

collage
Clockwise: Happiness is a table full of food and friends; Some take wine with dessert, others take milk. We don’t discriminate; The ladies of my office–we call ourselves the Prowlettes; If there is one thing my office knows how to do, it’s demolish dessert.

Maria, who I joke is my “work wife” because we are pretty much attached at the hip Monday-Friday, just purchased her very first house!!  Sarah, who sits in the desk separating my “wife” and I, owns a condo just a few miles from Maria’s new house and has been telling us we should “stop by” for ages.  Maria and Sarah are kind of fake grownups like me, but slightly closer to being real grownups since they a) own homes, b) own furniture that is not from IKEA, c) are engaged to be married.

In case you haven’t noticed, I work in one of those weirdo offices where people actually like one another and sometimes even like to spend time together on the weekend, so in celebration of Maria’s new purchase, our section planned a Mexican themed  progressive dinner.  On Friday night we all met at Sarah’s place for drinks, soup, and salad.  Sarah and her finance made their “worldoffice-famous” chili while Matt and his girlfriend brought a taco salad.  After spending about an hour and a half or so at Sarah’s we all hopped in our cars and drove to Maria’s for the entree and dessert courses.  Maria and her fiancee Cal (shout out  to  The Spatularettes #1 fan!!) made chicken tacos with all the fixins and naturally I was in charge of dessert.

cropped 4
Yours Truly – Resident Cake Girl

This is the most ridiculously moist chocolate cake you will ever try.  I baked it Thursday nigth and had a leftover slice at lunch on Monday that still tasted fresh baked.  You’ll get a little bit annoyed by all the “extra Tbs of this” and “extra 1/4 tsp of that” in the recipe, but trust me when I say it is totally worth it.  This WILL be your new go-to recipe.

As for the “Mexican” part of this, if you are worried about your guests having sensitive palates, you can dial back a bit on the cinnamon, chili powder, and cayene.  The cake itself is very rich and chocoaltely though, so I think the full amount evens out the flavors nicely… espcially if you plan on pairing it with a scoop of vanilla ice cream.

The Goods:

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 1/4 cup + 1 Tbs of brewed coffee
  • 3/4 cup Hershey’s special dark cocoa (blend of regular and dutch press)
  • 2 1/4 cup sugar
  • 2 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1 1/4 tsp kosher salt
  • 2 whole eggs
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 1 1/4 cup + 1 Tbs buttermilk
  • 1 cup + 2 Tbs canola oil
  • 1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 1/2 cups + 2 Tbs all-purpous flour
  • 1 Tbs cinnamon
  • 1 1/2 tsp chili powder
  • 3/4 tsp cayenne pepper
  • melted white chocolate for drizzling (optional)

SPECIAL EQUIPMENT:

  • 10 inch bundt pan
cropped 3
We didn’t actually serve dessert til 11:30, hence the lack of natural light in this photo.

The Deets:

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and grease and flour your bundt pan.  I actually recommend “flouring” it with some cocoa powder so you don’t have to worry about any white residue from the flour on your pretty chocolate cake.

On the stove top whisk together the coffee and the cocoa powder in a small saucepan, and bring to a boil, stiring often.  Once the mixture it boiling, turn off the heat and let it cool to room temperature.

While the coffee/cocoa mixture is cooling, start on the rest of the batter.  In a stand mixer fit with the whisk attachement, combine the sugar, salt, baking soda, eggs and egg yolk, and mix for about a minute.  Add the buttermilk, oil, and vanilla and continue mixing for another minute.

Measure in the flour, cinnamon, chili powder, and cayenne, and mix on medium speed for another 2 minutes.  Finally add in the cooled cocoa mixture and beat on medium speed for 3 more minutes.  Pour the batter, which will be quite liquidity, into the prepared bundt pan and bake for 50 minutes to 1 hour, or until a toothpick comes out clean.  Let the cake cool completely then flip it onto a wire rack or cake plate.  It should slide right out of the pan, but if not just give the pan a few taps with a butter knife.

Drizzle the cake with melted chocolate or your favorite glaze.

The Inspiration:

Joy The Baker’s Best Chocolate Bundt Cake Ever.  I used nearly her exact chocolate cake recipe, then kicked it up with some heat of my own.  And yes, I’m sure you’ve noticed, but Joy is my most recent culinary obsession.  Because she’s amazing.  That is all.

cropped 1

If being a real grownup means eating this cake for fun… sign me up!!

XOXO,

Tall One

Leave a Reply

