Sweet n Salty Roasted Butternut Squash

cropped 2

The Scoop:

I’ve been really fortunate in  my job and have the opportunity to telework a couple of times a month.  It’s nice to be able to work in my sweats from the comfort of my couch every now and then.  It’s nice to skip he commute and not have to worry about traffic from time to time.  I love being able to listen to the Today’s Country station on Pandora all day.  But my favorite part of working from home is actually getting to enjoy a nice homemade lunch in place of the canned soup I’ve been eating recently at the office.  Last week I asked Small One to send me her favorite holiday side dish recipe and the second I read it, I knew I would love it.  So this week on Work At Home Wednesday, I gave it a whirl.  I call this a side dish, but that day… it was my lunch.  This squash has the perfect combination of sweet and savory and I couldn’t get enough of it.

My lunch break went something like this:

12:00 – Put butternut squash in oven.

12:20 – “holy cow my apratment smells amazing!”

12:35 – “are these things done yet!?!”

12:40 – remove from oven and immediately start nibbling

12:45 – arrange squash for photo.  nibble a bit.  take a photo.  nibble more.  photo. nibble. photo. nibble.

12:55 – give up on photographs and the nibbling and eat reamining squash with a fork and knife like a civilized person.

cropped 1

The Goods:

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 butternut squash (2-2.5 lbs)
  • 2 Tbs butter
  • 2 Tbs honey
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • sea salt

The Deets:

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees and line a large baking sheet with foil.

Cut, peel, and seed your butternut squash carefully with a large knife.  Slice it into half inch rounds like I did or cube it as small one suggested to me.  In the mirowave, melt the butter and honey together.  I zapped mine for about 30 seconds.  Add the nutmeg and stir gently to combine after removing it from the microwave.  Brush the butter/honey mixture onto both sides of the squash rounds.  If you use cubes, pour the liquid over the squash and gently toss with a wooden spoon.  Spread the squash in a single layer on the baking sheet.  Roast for 40 minutes.  If using the rounds, flip them once during cooking with a pair of kitchen tongs.  If roasting the cubed squash, toss it with a wooden spoon a few times while cooking.  The outsides will get a little crispy, but the insides will be nice and soft.

If you can’t remove all the stringy insides before cooking, it’s not a problem.  Those were actually my favorite part!  The strands get all sweet and crispy and carmely, kind of like candy!  Yum!

The Inspiration:

Small One!  Her recipe actually called for acorn squash but I couldn’t find any at my local market that day.  Either way you’re definitely in for a tasty treat!

cropped 3

See?  It’s like  candy.   But  for dinner.  I promise you are going to want this.

XOXO,

Tall One

Leave a Reply

