Truthful Tuesdays: Priorities

Truthful Tuesdays… something new I’m trying out.  Its just a chance for me the share a little somethin somethin that’s been on my mind lately, and give you a chance to get to know me better.  I’ll give you my insights on life, love, and the kitchen.  But let’s be real, you might want to take my advice with a grain of salt ; )

#priorities

For my first Truthful Tuesday, I couldn’t think of anything better to talk about than priorities.  This time of year should be all about celebrating the true meaning of the season with loved ones, but more often than not the month of December reflects our ugliest side, as we embrace busyness and consumerism instead.  I’ve never ever heard someone refer to the holiday season as relaxing.  We sprint from the work to the mall to a party and back to work again.  We pack our schedules so full that we don’t even appreciate the time we are spending with friends and family.  I know that my priorities are never more out of wack than they are during the holiday season.  Sad but true.

The even sadder part is that our priorities during the holidays are actually a pretty good reflection of our priorities during the rest of the year as well.  I recently read this great article about making the conscious choice to create time for the things you love, even if it means sacrificing a “priority.”  Modern America is all about getting ahead, getting that promotion, acing that test, driving the nicest car.  But really… when you think about your life… are those the things that matter?  I mean, if given the choice would you rather be working 60 hours a week and constantly too tired to enjoy your life, or would you rather spend your evenings at home, or out with friends, or better yet, pursuing your passions?  Think about it.  Because when it comes down to it, most of us actually do have that choice.

For example, I have a final in my MBA Finance class tonight.  I worked hard during the semester, studied a fair amount over the weekend, and overall feel comfortable with the material.  Even so, last night when I got home from work, I was sure that I needed to spend all evening burried away with my book and finanacial calculator.  But then I realized that what I really wanted to do was cook something.  It’d been a long day and I wanted to relax.  So I did.  I spent about an hour brushing up on some formulas for my exam, and then I spent the rest of the evening sandwhiching creamy tart filling between crackers and covering them in sprinkles as a treat for my coworkers in the morning.  Good idea?  Bad idea?  I’m not sure.  I guess I’ll let you know when I get my grade on Thursday!

I’m not saying that we should ever start neglecting the “important stuff,” but I do think that it’s time for all of us to take a minute and reevaluate our priorities, just to be sure they are in line.

XOXO,

Tall One

Leave a Reply

