Rosemary Parmesan Popcorn

The Scoop:

Ok one more birthday flashback post before we jump into all of the holiday madness.  A couple weeks… errrrr more like a month ago now… we celebrated my roommate’s birthday.  The weekend was full of nights on the town and even a little shindig at our place.  I had so much fun celebrating with our friends, that  I kept joking that Jess’ 27th birthday has actually been my favorite birthday!

Whenever we invite friends over to our place, I see it as the perfect opportunity to try out some new snack recipes.  Last year I visited the Troegs Brewery in Hershey, PA with my college roommates.  While sipping on craft beers we enjoyed the most amazing bar snack of all time, and I’ve been waiting for the perfect occasion to recreate it ever since.  Rosemary Parmesan Popcorn is a-dict-ing and absolutely irresistible when enjoyed with a cold one.  This popcorn is the perfect party food because it can be thrown together in a mere 5 minutes and the recipe is easy to double (or triple) if you are feeding a crowd!

The Goods:

  • 10 cups popped popcorn (I used 1 microwave bag)
  • 1/4 cup butter (1/2 stick)
  • 1/2 Tbs dried rosemary
  • 1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese
  • salt to taste

The Deets:

Pop the popcorn (either air pop or microwave) according to respective instructions and transfer to  a large bowl to cool.  In a small saucepan on the stove  top, combine  the butter and rosemary, and melt over low  heat.  While the butter is melting, toss the cooled popcorn with the 1/4 cup of grated cheese.  Once the butter is melted, immediately pour the mixture over the popcorn and toss with a wooden spoon until the kernels are evenly coated.  I find the Parmesan cheese to be salty enough for this snack, but taste and add more salt if needed.  Serve immediately.

The Inspiration:

A super bar snack my friends and I ordered at the Troegs Brewing Company in Hershey, PA.

I know I said we weren’t getting into the holidays just yet… but guess what?  This is the perfect holiday snack!  Just sayin…

XOXO,

Tall One

Leave a Reply

