Cheddar Breakfast Buns

The Scoop:

Want know a secret?  I mean its not really a secret, it’s just the truth.

When I graduated college, I absolutely, positively could not cook.  Like not at all.  I made pasta, grilled cheese, and tuna salad.  Yeah, that was about it.  Sometimes hamburger helper.

But then I graduated, spent a summer volunteering with Americorps, followed up by a move to Philadelphia for a job that paid an entry level salary.  Considering I could barely afford my rent, I definitely couldn’t afford to go out to eat.  Not very often at least.  And it doesn’t take long for a girl to get sick of spaghetti and tuna melts.  So I started watching the food network, and I bought a Rachel Ray cookbook, and I started following a couple of food blogs.  Slowly but surely I began to learn the tricks of the trade.  And believe me friends, I still have a lot to learn.

Anyone even remotely in touch with the world of food blogging knows that there a zillion options out there.  I’ve found a dozen or so blogs that I absolutely adore but I know there are hundreds (thousands?) of other great sites out there.  Regardless, the very first blog I fell in love with was Smitten Kitchen.  Deb does an incredible job of taking gourmet-ish recipes, and turning them into doable make-at-home creations.  Seriously.  I fell in love.  And I’m still in love.  So last week when Deb released her first real live cookbook my foodie excitement level reached a whole new level.

As I flipped through the pages for the first time, I marked recipe after recipe that I couldn’t wait to try.  So what did I settle on first?  These absolutely-perfect-in-every-single-way-cheddar-breakfast-buns.  I made a couple of ingredient swaps based on what I had around the house, and they still were as wonderful as I expected them to be.  They are like savory cinnamon rolls.  Seriously.  How can you NOT love that?

So for real.  Make these this weekend. Just do it.  You won’t regret it.

The Goods:

INGREDIENTS:

Dough:

  • 1 1/2 flour
  • 1/2 tsp table salt
  • Few grinds of black pepper
  • 1/2 Tbs sugar
  • 1 heafty tsp yeast
  • 1/2 cup lukewarm milk (I zap mine in the microwave)
  • 2 Tbs melted butter, plus additional for brushing

Filling:

  • 1/4 cup green onions, finely chopped
  • 3/4 cup grated sharp cheddar cheese
  • 1 tsp dried dill
  • pinch of salt
  • few grinds of black pepper

The Deets:

Start by making the dough.  Combine the flour, salt, pepper, and sugar in the bottom of a large bowl.  In another bowl, mix together the warm milk and the yeast.  Pour the liquid  along with the  melted butter into the dry ingredients and use a wooden spoon to mix them together.  Deb says to mix until a “shaggy ball”can be formed.  (When I first read this I saw SAGGY ball and was like whaaaaaat? Ok, definitely time to remove my mind from the gutter.)

Use your hands or a dough hook to kneed the dough until a smooth ball is formed.  Place the dough in a lightly oiled bowl and let it rise for a couple of hours or until it has doubled in size.

To make the buns, transfer the dough to a floured surface  and roll it into a long rectangle (approximately 6 inches by 16 inches.  Spread the filling over the dough, leaving a half inch border on the short ends.  Then begin at one short end and tightly roll the dough  the length of the rectangle.  Use a serated knife to trim off the doughy ends, then slice the roll into 6 one inch pieces.

Line a round baking pan with parchment paper and place the rolls inside.  Allow them to rise in a warm area for about 2 hours or until they double in size.  I actually made the rolls on a Friday night, refrigerated them over night, then let them rise when I woke up Saturday morning before baking.  It maybe took an extra half hour for them to double in size since they were chilled.  Brush the buns with some additional melted butter.

Bake the buns in a 350 degree oven for 20-25 minutes.  They will be golden brown and bubbly when done.  They will also be amazing when done.  Just sayin.

The Inspiration:

The Smitten Kitchen Cookbook

I used green onions in place of white onion, dried dill in place of fresh dill, and regular yeast instead of the instant stuff. I also halved her original recipe since I was just cooking for myself.  I loved the results, but I’m sure her way is just as good, if not better.  I mean, its the smitten kitchen after all.

Cheddar Breakfast Buns go great along side an egg white omelette.  Or as an after work snack.  Or for dinner when you can’t figure out what else to eat.  Or for… well, you get the picture.  These are super fab any time of day.

XOXO,

Tall One

Leave a Reply

