Caramel Apple Dip

The Scoop:

I’m not gonna lie, guys.  It is Sunday night and I have got a case of the Sunday evening blues. Bad.

Its not that I mind going back to work.  Because I do like it.  The majority of the time.  I just like the weekend more.  That’s not exactly a shocking statement… but it is true… and the reason for my Sunday blues.  It was a truly wonderful yet productive weekend, and I’m just not ready to say goodbye to it yet.

I spent the entire day Saturday with the Young Adults group from my church.  We ventured out to Buck’s County for a day on the farm!  A hay ride, apple picking, a corn maze, and just some all around fun in the sun with some dear friends.  Things turned into a comedy of errors when the hay ride dropped us off at an orchard with absolutely no apples.  Apparently it was an early season for the apples this year and the gals at the ticket booth forgot to mention it.  Oh well, its not like I needed to pick any more, right?

Even though we didn’t get the opportunity to pick, I still had apples on my mind.  And when I want an apple snack in a pinch there is nothing better than Caramel Apple Dip.  My mom used to make it for parties when I was a kid, so this recipe has been a favorite of mine for years!   This is without a doubt one of the quickest and tastiest fall snacks you can make.  A couple years ago Caramel Apple Dip was in my regular snack recipe rotation, but somehow I temporarily forgot about its awesomeness.  Then a couple days ago my roommate mentioned “Hey, remember that caramel apple dip you used to make?  Let’s do that again.” And so we did.

The Goods:

INGREDIENTS:

  • 8 oz package cream cheese, softened
  • 1 1/2 cups powdered sugar
  • 3/4 cup caramel, store bought or homemade
  • Crushed peanuts or graham cracker for garnish
  • Sliced apples for dipping

The Deets:

I typically use my KitchenAid mixer for this, but you can do this by hand just as easily.  Make sure the cream cheese is very soft, and whip it to lighten it up a bit more.  Mix in the powdered sugar, 1/4 cup at a time, making sure it is fully incorporated before adding more.  Pour the cream cheese mixture into a shallow bowl or serving dish.  This time I used one of my Fiestaware pasta bowls, but in  the past I have used a glass pie dish.  Place the serving dish in the refrigerator for about 20 minutes to let the cream cheese firm back up a bit.

Once cooled, pour the caramel over the cream cheese mixture.  If the caramel is very tacky, you’ll want to zap it in the microwave for 10-20 seconds before spreading it.  Don’t let the caramel get hot, just make sure it is smooth enough to pour.

My mom used to top her Caramel Apple Dip with crushed peanuts.  Since my roommate is allergic to peanuts, we used crumbled graham crackers instead.  It is good either way, so just top your dip with a little something too give it some crunch!

Serve dip with sliced apples.

The Inspiration:

My mom : )

PS: This makes an awesome after work (or school) snack, since it’s back to the grind for most of us!

XOXO,

Tall One

Leave a Reply

