Just Sayin’

Ok so this post isn’t about food.  Or life.  Or love.

It’s about coffee. 

Which I guess in reality is food and life and love all wrapped up into one delicious little package.

But for something so wonderful, boy oh boy can coffee be an evil guy.  Listen to what coffee did to me today.

For some reason this morning, I decided to brew a little more than normal.  I don’t know why, it just seemed like a good idea at the time.  I drank it while I straightened my hair.  I drank it while I photographed some cookies for a blog post (check back this weekend to see what I’ve been up to!)  I drank it while I drove to work.  And I drank some more while sitting at my desk checking emails.  Then finally I ate breakfast.

Too little too late on the breakfast eating because I already had the coffee jitters… BIG TIME.  Like the bad ones where your hands get shaky and your brain can’t focus on any one thing for more than 15 consecutive seconds.  Ugh.  Please tell me I’m not the only one this happens to!

So I did what any reasonable person with coffee jitters would do.  I chugged about a half gallon of water and temporarily gave up on work to go over to my foodie co-worker’s desk and discuss EVERY restaurant in Philadelphia for the next 30 minutes.  Like every restaurant either of us has ever eaten at in this city.  Seems reasonable right?  I mean, if I’m too jittery to get any work done, that why should anyone else!?

Finally my caffeine high waned to a level that was perfectly suitable for some very productive work.  So I got stuff done.  Score.

But now it’s the afternoon and I’m experiencing an epic crash.  I got so desperate that I sucked the last few cold drops from my morning coffee cup.  Disgusting.  I know.  But I was desperate.  And now I’m doing this terrible thing where I keep looking at the clock, sure that its broken, because there is no way that it has only been two minutes since I last peeked.  So I decided to write a blog post about it.  A+ on productivity.

Yeah, coffee and I have a love-hate relationship.  Mostly love.  But a little bit hate.

The end.

XOXO,

Tall One

PS: My applogies for what are probably a million typos in this post.

Leave a Reply

