Power Foods Friday – Power Pancakes

The Scoop:

Another Power Foods Friday is upon us, marking the completion of yet another week of marathon training.  I can’t believe it, but in just three weeks I’ll be in Washington DC for the 37th annual Marine Corps Marathon!  Tomorrow is my last 20 mile run of the training cycle, so I decided that this week was deserving of an extra powerful power breakfast.  I thought it would be fun to “health-up” a classic breakfast favorite, and so Power Pancakes were born!  I swapped whole wheat flour and oats for all-purpose flour and used Greek yogurt in place of oil.  The pancakes came out light, fluffy, and browned perfectly in a non-stick pan.  I ate 3 for breakfast and felt full for hours!

Do you know what’s even better about this recipe?  The left overs!  They are the perfect size to re-heat in the toaster.   I’ve got 3 Power Pancakes waiting for me in the refrigerator to power up tomorrow morning before my long run.  Oh, and these guys are so good I decided to make a second batch and throw them in the freezer for when I need a power breakfast in a pinch!

The Goods:

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup old fashion oats
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • pinch of salt
  • 2 Tbs brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 Tbs Greek yogurt
  • 1 cup buttermilk

recipe makes 6 pancakes

The Deets:

In a medium bowl, mix together the whole wheat flour, oats, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, salt and brown sugar.  In a separate bowl, whisk together the egg, vanilla, Greek yogurt, and buttermilk.  Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and mix, just until combined.  Heat a non stick skillet on the stove over medium heat.  Pour 1/4 cup of the batter onto the hot surface of the pan.  Let it cook for about two minutes.  When it is  ready to flip, the batter will start to bubble a bit, and the edges will firm up and begin to brown.  Flip the pancake and cook for about 1 more minute.  Both sides should be an even golden brown when the pancake is done.

Top your Power Pancakes with traditional maple syrup.

Or do what I did and top them with vanilla Greek yogurt.

Or yesterday’s Overnight Crock Pot Apple Sauce.

Or a little bit of both : )

The Inspiration:

Serious Eats

I founds this basic pancake recipe while laying in bed one night researching the difference between baking powder and baking soda on my phone.  Yes, its true,  I can’t believe I just admitted that.  But its official, I’m a foodie dork.

Cake you can feel good about?  Now that is POWERFUL!

XOXO,

Tall One

3 thoughts on “Power Foods Friday – Power Pancakes

Leave a Reply

