Overnight Crock Pot Apple Sauce

The Scoop:

Sometimes you’re just having “one of those weeks.”  You know the kind?  The waaaaaaa-why-doesn’t-my-mom-live-right-around-the-corner-so-we-can-go-out-for-coffee-and-she-can-tell-me-everything-is-going-to-work-out kind of weeks.  Please tell me you know what I’m talking about, because it has definitely been one of those weeks.  And unfortunately for me, my mom lives seven hours away, so I just had to settle for a phone call, which happens to be the next best thing to a coffee date.  I don’t know how she got so good at it, but my mom is the absolute master of spinning my self-doubt and anxiety into confidence and clarity.  No matter how crazed I am when I call her, I always hang up the phone feeling calm and (somewhat) centered again.

My mom also happens to be the master of comfort food.  Warm casseroles, homemade bread, and freshly baked muffins.  Even though my parents no longer live in the house where I grew up, thanks to my Mom’s cooking, the new house still smells like home.  And this week, that is exactly where I would have liked to be.  Unfortunately, with my busy schedule there was no way I was leavings town, so I decided to bring a little piece of my mom’s kitchen to my kitchen here in Philly with one of her ultimate comfort recipes: Overnight Crock Pot Apple Sauce.

This recipe is so easy and so perfect for autumn!  I literally dumped all of the ingredients in the crock pot before going to bed last night, turned it on low, and then woke up this morning to the most incredible aroma!   And if a steaming, mushy bowl of slow cooked fruit for breakfast doesn’t say comfort food, then I sure as heck don’t know what does!

The Goods:

INGREDIENTS:

  • 9 medium sized apples (I suggest gala)
  • Zest of one lemon
  • Juice of half a lemon
  • 1/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1 Tbs vanilla
  • 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp allspice
  • 1/4 tsp ground cloves

SPECIAL EQUIPMENT:

  • Crock pot

The Deets:

This one is seriously simple, friends!  Lightly grease the inside of a crock pot with cooking spray.  Peel, core, and slice the apples, then combine them in  the crock pot with the remaining ingredients.  Gently toss with a wooden spoon until the apples are evenly coated.  Cover and turn the crock pot on low for 7-8 hours.  I love making this chunky apple sauce over night and waking up to my apartment smelling incredible!  Remove the lid and gently stir the apples with a wooden spoon.  They will fall apart in front of your eyes to create the most homey, comforting, chunky apple sauce you’ve ever had.  I like to top my apple sauce with a dollop of vanilla Greek yogurt and a sprinkle of cinnamon, but its absolutely wonderful by itself.

The Inspiration:

My mom.  And a happy childhood 🙂

Sometimes all you need is a little comfort food to change your outlook on life!

XOXO,

Tall One

Leave a Reply

