Impulse Buys

Hey guys!  Where are all my impulse buyers at!?

*sheepishly raises hand*

It’s so weird.  Because I wasn’t brought up this way.  My mom is the best.  Seriously.  She walks in to the store with a list and absolutely nothing makes it into her cart unless it is on the list.  Her coupons are pre-cut, the weekly ads are circled, and she only walks down the necessary aisles.  Talk about a budget savvy shopper!

Me on the other hand… Ugh, where do I even begin?

First, my list is something that I’ve jotted down on the notepad of my iPhone while sitting at my desk at work.  I always forget something.  I can never remember where anything is, no matter how many times I’ve been to the store, so I typically end up wandering up and down every aisle.  Sometimes twice.  And without fail I will leave my coupons (and reusable shopping bags) sitting on the kitchen counter.  Every time.  If I bring a coupon with me, its usually expired.  Wow, I really hope my mom isn’t reading today’s post.

Now for the part that my mom will really hate.  I’m a terrible impulse buyer.  I don’t  know when it started, but it’s true.  Target is the worst.  I don’t know who’s job it is to arrange the shelves but they should get paid a lot of money because I always walk out of Target with something I don’t need.  Never anything terribly expensive, but always something.  A $5 DVD, a seasonal flavored coffee, a kitchen gadget,  a new shade of nail polish… you get the picture.

Then I reached an all time low on the impulse buy scale the other day at ShopRite when I purchased these:

A giant box of corn flakes.  With Gabby Douglas on the front.

I don’t even like corn flakes.  Not for breakfast at least.

I’m just a sucker for good marketing I guess…

And the Olympics…

And that Flying Squirrel!

For real, the Corn Flake Marketing Man better be getting paid a lot of money (just like the Target Shelf Man) because I just purchased a huge quantity of a product I don’t even care for, for a price that I do not recall (really, can you put a price tag on greatness?), and all I want is the box.

After all this rambling, we finally get to the point of the post.

Does anyone know a good Corn Flake recipe?  Dinner, dessert, breakfast, snack, I don’t really care.  I don’t believe in wasting food and I have 18 oz of cereal to use!  Leave a comment if you have a good suggestion!!

XOXO,

Tall One

3 thoughts on “Impulse Buys

Leave a Reply

